The heating of office buildings, schools and public facilities is not only a significant cost factor. It is also an environmental issue. What is needed are solutions that reduce energy consumption without compromising on temperature and comfort.

The challenge: Saving energy without compromising comfort

Until now, saving energy and reducing heating costs simply meant to lower the room temperature. From the perspective of the operator of a building, this is logical. For the user, however, it means a significant loss of comfort.

What is needed, therefore, is a heating system that offers more than just time-controlled adjustment of the temperature. A system that thinks and adapts to the habits of the users of a building. An intelligent heating control that knows exactly when a room is being used and then automatically provides a temperature that feels comfortable.

The solution: Precisely regulating instead of simply switching on and off

Christoph Berger studied energy engineering at the Technical University of Hamburg. Lasse Stehnken has a Master in Automotive Software Engineering. Both were thinking about heating schools, offices and administration buildings and came to the conclusion that there had to be something more intelligent than time-controlled switching the heating system on and off. They also got Christian Brase on board, who takes care of the economic side of the startup with his Master of Economics.

The startup VILISTO, founded by the three, resides in the premises of TUTECH in Hamburg Harburg, where it is supported by renowned coaches and accompanied in its development.

Over the year, 80% of the rooms in an office building are not used. About the same applies to a school or university. The makers behind VILISTO considered how to adapt the heating to this situation without having to install a costly infrastructure.

The solution is Ovis, the intelligent heating controller that simply replaces the existing radiator actuators in the room. Ovis is an intelligent heating controller and a typical example of the Internet of Things. It responds to movement, sound and light and thus recognizes how the space is being used. When is this working time? When is closing time? On which days does the room remain completely unused? The controller collects this information and sets the room temperature automatically.

All of this happens fully automatically, without anyone having to program anything. If the employees of a company arrive at the office at eight o’clock in the morning, the heating system will start beforehand. If no one is in the room, it will be automatically shut down. Overnight, on weekends or during school holidays, the radiators provide only the heat that prevents the building from cooling down.

All required control logic is contained in Shepherd, an inconspicuous controller that communicates wirelessly with up to 20 Ovis controllers. Shepherd processes the information collected by Ovis using self-learning algorithms and additionally incorporates the current weather report. The result is a fully automatic heating control system that uses artificial intelligence to save energy and costs without the temperature in the individual rooms being perceived as too high or too low.

August 2019

Potential: Intelligent heating control for retrofitting

After the founding of VILISTO in 2016, a beta series of intelligent heating control systems was developed and tested under different conditions. Since the beginning of 2018, the product has been ready for the market. Design and production of the individual components are carried out exclusively by companies in the greater Hamburg region.

Since 2018, VILISTO has been expanding its sales structure in order to market its intelligent heating control as a first step throughout Germany.

VILISTO
in Numbers

80%
of the office space is not used
32%
savings through intelligent heating control
20
radiators are controlled by a micro controller

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Die Heizung von Bürogebäuden, Schulen und öffentlichen Einrichtungen ist nicht nur ein erheblicher Kostenfaktor. Es ist auch ein Umweltthema. Gefragt sind daher Lösungen, die den Energieverbrauch senken, ohne dabei Temperatur und Komfort zu beeinträchtigen.

Herausforderung: Energie sparen ohne Komfortverlust

Energie sparen und Heizkosten senken hieß bisher schlicht und einfach die Raumtemperatur senken. Aus Sicht des Betreibers eines Gebäudes ist das logisch. Für den Nutzer bedeutet es jedoch einen erheblichen Komfortverlust.

Gefragt ist daher ein Heizsystem, das mehr kann, als einfach nur zeitgesteuert die Heizung hoch und runter zu fahren. Ein System, das mitdenkt und sich den Gewohnheiten der Nutzer eines Gebäudes anpasst. Eine intelligente Heizungsteuerung, die genau weiß, wann ein Raum genutzt wird und dann automatisch für eine Temperatur sorgt, die als angenehm empfunden wird.

Lösung: Gezielt regulieren statt einfach ein und ausschalten

Christoph Berger hat Energietechnik an der Technischen Universität Hamburg studiert. Lasse Stehnken hat einen Master in Automotive Software Engineering. Beide machten sich über die Beheizung von Schulen, Büro- und Verwaltungsgebäuden Gedanken und kamen zu dem Schluss, dass es eigentlich Intelligenteres geben müsste, als einfach zeitgesteuert die Heizung ein- und auszuschalten. Sie holten sich noch Christian Brase ins Boot, der sich mit seinem Master of Economics um die wirtschaftliche Seite des Startups kümmert.

Das von den drei Gründern ins Leben gerufene Startup VILISTO residiert in den Räumen von TUTECH in Hamburg Harburg, wo es von namhaften Coaches unterstützt und bei seiner Entwicklung begleitet wird.

Übers Jahr gesehen werden die einzelnen Räume eines Bürogebäudes zu 80 % nicht genutzt. Etwa dasselbe trifft auf eine Schule oder Universität zu. Die Macher hinter VILISTO überlegten, wie man die Heizung auf diese Situation anpassen kann, ohne dafür eine kostspielige Infrastruktur installieren zu müssen.

Die Lösung ist Ovis, der intelligente Heizungsregler, der einfach die vorhandenen Heizkörper-Stellregler im Raum ersetzt. Ovis ist ein intelligenter Heizungsregler und ein typisches Beispiel für das Internet der Dinge. Er reagiert auf Bewegung, Schall und Licht und erkennt dadurch, wie der Raum genutzt wird. Wann wird hier gearbeitet? Wann ist Feierabend? An welchen Tagen bleibt der Raum völlig ungenutzt? Der Regler sammelt diese Informationen und stellt die Raumtemperatur automatisch danach ein.

Das alles geschieht vollautomatisch, ohne dass irgendjemand irgendetwas programmieren muss. Kommen die Mitarbeiter eines Unternehmens morgens ab acht Uhr ins Büro, wird bereits vorher die Heizung hochgefahren. Ist niemand im Raum, wird sie automatisch wieder herunter geregelt. Über Nacht, am Wochenende oder während der Schulferien liefern die Heizkörper nur noch die Wärme, die ein Auskühlen des Gebäudes verhindert.

Die gesamte Logik dazu steckt in Shepherd, einem unscheinbaren Steuergerät, das drahtlos mit bis zu 20 Ovis-Reglern kommuniziert. Shepherd verarbeitet die von Ovis gesammelten Informationen mithilfe von selbstlernenden Algorithmen und bezieht zusätzlich den aktuellen Wetterbericht mit ein. Das Ergebnis ist eine vollautomatische Heizungssteuerung, die künstliche Intelligenz einsetzt, um Energie und Kosten zu sparen, ohne dass die Temperatur in den einzelnen Räumen als zu hoch oder zu niedrig empfunden wird.

Potenzial: Intelligente Heizungssteuerung zum Nachrüsten

Nach Gründung von VILISTO im Jahre 2016 entstand zunächst eine Betaserie der intelligenten Heizungssteuerung, die unter unterschiedlichen Bedingungen ausgetestet wurde. Seit Anfang 2018 ist das Produkt marktreif. Design und Produktion der einzelnen Komponenten erfolgen ausschließlich durch Unternehmen im Großraum Hamburg.

Seit 2018 baut VILISTO seine Vertriebsstruktur aus, um seine intelligente Heizungssteuerung im ersten Schritt deutschlandweit zu vermarkten.

Stand: August 2019

VILISTO
in Numbers

80 %
der Zeit werden Büroräume nicht genutzt
32 %
Einsparung durch intelligente Heizungssteuerung
20
Heizkörper werden über einen Controller gesteuert

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories