Can a plane that was almost completely 3D printed really fly? It can, Airbus proved it with Thor - which stands for “Testing High-Tech Objectives in Reality”. The printed plane, which measures approximately 4x4 metres, completed its first test flight in Stade in November 2015 and is now flying regularly at Faßberg in Lüneburg Heath. So far it is remote controlled and later this year it will even fly autonomously. And research on the 3D Airbus continues.

Challenge: Saving costs and reducing pollutants

Why is Airbus interested in printed planes? Because additive manufacturing processes have the potential to revolutionise entire industries. Scientists and engineers expect a clear cost advantage from the 3D printing process. Components produced by 3D printing are stable and even lighter than conventionally manufactured components. The lighter the plane, the less fuel it needs – this saves money and reduces pollutant emissions. In addition, the innovative technology enables the fast, flexible, and exact production of components on site. Yet until now, it was only possible to print individual parts. When will the first commercial aircraft come out of the printer?

Solution: Will a complete commercial aircraft be printed by 2025?

A groundbreaking innovation in the aviation industry: The good 60 structural elements – wings, fuselage, tail units – were manufactured in the Laser Zentrum Nord in Hamburg in just four weeks. In this process, pulverised raw material is melted by a laser beam and merged in millimetre-thin layers to form a component. This produces time savings of around 90 percent and 75 percent lower costs.

Experts estimate that commercial aircraft with printed bionic components could be produced as early as 2025. The current circular frames and cross braces will serve as a “skeleton” with quasi-natural reinforcements made from printed nodes with conventional welded connection profiles.
However, passenger transport is not the Thor project’s immediate goal. The point is rather to test new technologies. For example, in the second Thor model, interchangeable wings will be used to test shapes and materials. The use of artificial intelligence is also foreseen. In cooperation with the space and military technology division of the Airbus Group, Thor shall be able to land completely autonomously. A revolution in Hamburg, the aviation hub!

High-calibre partners and important drivers of these future technologies, such as the Centre for Applied Aviation Research (ZAL) and the Laser Zentrum Nord (LZN), are located here – there’s a reason why Hamburg is the largest German civil aviation industry hub and along with Toulouse, Europe’s most important.

Potential: Application in various different industries

The model airplane shows 3D printing’s potential for the aviation industry. And this innovative technology is not just applicable in aviation – it can be used in almost every industry – from mechanical engineering to logistics to medical technology. Hamburg could become Germany’s leading 3D printing hub. When required, Laser Zentrum Nord in Hamburg Bergedorf offers an overview of many of these 3D printing research activities “around Hamburg” – smart potential solutions for the aviation of the future.

Thor
in Numbers

60
Individual components
40
Km First test flight
20.000
Euros Production costs
25
Kg Weight

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Kann ein Flugzeug, das nahezu komplett aus dem 3D-Drucker kommt, wirklich fliegen? Es kann, das hat Airbus mit Thor – Kurzform für „Testing High-Tech Objectives in Reality“ – bewiesen. Das etwa 4x4-Meter große gedruckte Flugzeug, dass im November 2015 in Stade seinen ersten Testflug meisterte, fliegt inzwischen turnusmäßig in Faßberg in der Lüneburger Heide: Bisher fernsteuert und noch dieses Jahr sogar autonom. Und die Forschung am 3D-Airbus geht noch weiter.

Herausforderung: Kosten sparen und Schadstoffe reduzieren

Warum beschäftigt sich Airbus mit Flugzeugen aus dem Drucker? Weil additive Fertigungsverfahren das Potential haben, ganze Branchen zu revolutionieren. Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure versprechen sich vom 3D-Druckverfahren deutliche Kostenvorteile. Die im Drucker erzeugten Komponenten sind stabil und dabei leichter als konventionell hergestellte Bauteile. Je leichter das Flugzeug, desto weniger Treibstoff benötigt es – das spart Geld und reduziert Schadstoffemissionen. Zudem ermöglicht die innovative Technologie eine schnelle, flexible und exakte Herstellung von Baukomponenten vor Ort. Bisher konnten jedoch hauptsächlich Einzelteile gedruckt werden. Wann kommt das erste Verkehrsflugzeug aus dem Drucker?

Lösung: 2025 ein komplettes Verkehrsflugzeug drucken?

Eine bahnbrechende Innovation in der Luftfahrtbranche: In nur rund vier Wochen wurden die gut 60 Strukturelemente – Tragflächen, Rumpf, Leitwerke – im Laserzentrum Nord in Hamburg gefertigt. Dabei wird pulverisiertes Rohmaterial von einem Laserstrahl geschmolzen und in millimeterdünnen Schichten zu einem Bauteil zusammengefügt. Das bedeutet eine Zeitersparnis von rund 90 Prozent und 75 Prozent geringere Kosten.

Nach Schätzungen von Experten könnten bereits im Jahr 2025 Verkehrsflugzeuge mit gedruckt bionischen Komponenten ausgerüstet werden. Dabei würden die heutigen ringförmigen Spanten und Querstreben durch naturähnliche Versteifungen aus gedruckten Knotenpunkten mit eingeschweißten normalen Verbindungsprofilen als ´Gerippe` dienen.

Die Passagierbeförderung ist jedoch nicht das unmittelbare Ziel des Thor-Projekts. Vielmehr geht es um die Erprobung neuer Technologien. Beim zweiten Thor-Modell wird beispielsweise mit austauschbaren Flügeln gearbeitet, um Form und Material zu testen. Auch Künstliche Intelligenz soll zum Einsatz kommen. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Weltraum- und Militärtechniksparte der Airbus Group soll Thor komplett autonom landen können. Eine Revolution am Luftfahrtstandort Hamburg!

Mit dem Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung (ZAL) und dem Laser Zentrum Nord (LZN) sind hochkarätige Partner und wichtige Treiber dieser Zukunftstechnologien direkt vor Ort – nicht grundlos ist Hamburg das größte deutsche Zentrum der zivilen Luftfahrtindustrie und neben Toulouse das Wichtigste Europas.

Potenzial: Einsatz auch in diversen anderen Branchen

Das Modellflugzeug zeigt, welches Potenzial im 3D-Druck für die Luftfahrt liegt. Und das nicht nur im Bereich Aviation, die innovative Technologie kann in nahezu allen Branchen eingesetzt werden – von Maschinenbau über Logistik bis zur Medizintechnik. Hamburg könnte zum führenden 3D-Druck-Standort in Deutschland werden. Das Laserzentrum Nord in Hamburg Bergedorf bietet bei Bedarf einen Überblick über viele dieser 3D Druck Forschungsaktivitäten „rund um Hamburg“ – kluge Lösungsansätze für den Luftverkehr der Zukunft.

THOR
in Numbers

60
gedruckte Teile
40
Km Flug
20.000
Euro Produktionskosten
21
Kilogram

Let's Connect

Related Stories