Private transport increasingly suffocates our cities. But any alternative to a privately owned car must be comfortable. It has to be flexible. Using it needs to be uncomplicated. That's exactly what the future will be like – and what the city of Hamburg is striving for.

Public transport alone will not replace private cars

There are already many alternatives to using one‘s own car – buses,  trains, taxis, car sharing, bike sharing and increasingly also on-demand services. The only problem is that you have to become a customer and need to use a separate app for each individual serivice. This really makes things complicated.

All means of transport easily accessable

With the switchh project, the Hamburger Hochbahn wants to start a new type of joint mobility offer. At the heart of switchh is an intelligent network of all public transport services. The aim is to offer the city commuter simple, comprehensive assess to diverse transportation offers.

switchh raises awareness of a new type of urban mobility without owning a car and should create incentives to reduce private car use or private car ownership. The basis for this is the switchh platform. It will be realized in close cooperation with Upstream next level mobility GmbH, a subsidiary of Wiener Linien, the urban transport provider of the city of Vienna.

The user only needs one registration and validation to access vendor-wide overview and billing. For the use of the various mobility products a common medium is under development: the switchh app. It is intended to cover the entire range of applications – from the information via the reservation and booking process to the access and use of the respective means of transport.

One solution for any mobility need

The aim of switchh is a digital infrastructure for urban mobility that links all publicly available services and later also includes the associated infrastructure (bus and train stops, P+R or B+R facilities as well as parking lots).

In times of increasing digitization, switchh should provide reliable digital access to urban mobility – whether by train, bus, taxi or sharing.

The Hochbahn wants to use switchh to provide the management and the digital infrastructure for a provider-wide mobility service. In terms of the city’s transport policy, the solution is expected to achieve better utilization of different means of transport and thus less dormant and flowing traffic. This mobility solution is meant to be an alternative to the private car. It will relieve high-density neighborhoods and offers prospects for the development of new quarters with less cars.

From a green point of view, the idea of an environmentally friendly transportation network is reaching a totally new quality. Shared vehicles will relieve the individual traffic. Increasingly electric vehicles for car sharing and public transport will have a positive impact on air quality and the environment.

Switchh
in Numbers

1327
bus stops
91
underground and train stops
45
switchh points in the city of Hamburg
4000
carsharing vehicles from 3 suppliers
2500
bicycles from StadtRAD Hamburg

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Die Städte ersticken zunehmend im Individualverkehr. Doch eine Alternative zum eigenen Auto muss bequem sein. Sie muss flexibel sein. Sie muss unkompliziert sein. Genau das wird jetzt Wirklichkeit. Schon jetzt in Hamburg und bald auch anderswo.

Nahverkehr allein ersetzt nicht den privaten PKW

Eigentlich gibt es ja zahlreiche Alternativen zum eigenen PKW – Busse und Bahnen, Taxis, Carsharing, Bikesharing und erste On Demand-Services. Das Problem ist nur, dass man derzeit überall erst Kunde werden muss und eine eigene App braucht, was die Sache doch recht kompliziert macht.

Alle Verkehrsmittel problemlos nutzbar

Mit dem Projekt switchh will die Hamburger Hochbahn den Anfang zu einem gemeinsamen Mobilitätsangebot machen. Kern von switchh ist die intelligente Vernetzung aller öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. Ziel ist es, dem Stadtbewohner eine einfache, übergreifende Nutzung dieses vielfältigen Angebotes zu ermöglichen.

switchh rückt eine neue, urbane Mobilität ohne eigenen PKW ins Bewusstsein und soll Anreize zur Reduktion der privaten PKW-Nutzung bzw. des privaten PKW-Besitzes schaffen. Die Basis dafür soll die switchh Plattform bieten. Diese wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Upstream next level mobility GmbH, einem Tochterunternehmen der Wiener Linien, realisiert.

Der Nutzer benötigt dafür lediglich eine einheitliche Registrierung und Validierung und verfügt fortan über eine Anbieter-übergreifende Übersicht und Abrechnung. Die Nutzung der verschiedenen Mobilitätsprodukte soll über ein gemeinsames Medium erfolgen: die switchh App. Diese soll das gesamte Anwendungsspektrum abdecken – von derAuskunft über die Reservierung/Buchung bis zu Zugang und Nutzung des jeweiligen Verkehrsmittels.

Eine Lösung für jeden Mobilitätsbedarf

Ziel von switchh ist eine digitale Infrastruktur für die urbane Mobilität, die alle öffentlich zugänglichen Angebote vernetzt und später auch die damit im Zusammenhang stehende Infrastruktur einbezieht (Haltestellen, P+R- bzw. B+R-Anlagen und Parkplätze).

In Zeiten zunehmender Digitalisierung soll switchh einen verlässlichen digitalen Zugang zu urbaner Mobilität ermöglichen – ganz gleich, ob per Bahn, Bus, Taxi oder Sharing.

Die Hochbahn will mit switchh das Management und die digitale Infrastruktur für einen Anbieter-übergreifenden Mobilitätsservice bereitstellen. Verkehrspolitisch gesehen soll damit eine bessere Auslastung unterschiedlicher Verkehrsmittel und damit weniger ruhender und fließender Verkehr erreicht werden. Es soll eine Mobilitätslösung alternativ zum privaten PKW geschaffen werden, die hochverdichtete Quartiere entlastet und Perspektiven für die Entwicklung neuer, autoarmer Quartiere bietet.

Umweltpolitisch gesehen bekommt damit der Gedanke eines Umweltverbundes eine ganz neue Qualität. Geteilte Fahrzeuge entlasten den Individualverkehr. Zunehmend elektrifizierte Antriebe bei Carsharing und ÖPNV wirken sich positiv auf Luftqualität und Umwelt aus.

Stand: August 2019

Switchh
in Numbers

1327
Bushaltestellen
91
U-Bahn- und S-Bahn-Haltestellen
45
switchh-Punkte im Stadtgebiet Hamburg
4000
Carsharing-Fahrzeuge von 3 Anbietern
2500
Fahrräder von StadtRAD Hamburg

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories