Ideal locations for wind turbines are the coastal regions, where constant winds result in best-possible operating conditions. But wind turbines should have a low visual impact. Automatically operated kites offer new opportunities to complement conventional wind parks.

New technology for even more wind energy

The space for wind turbines is limited, both on land and near the coast. At the same time, offshore installation is only possible where the sea is not deeper than 40 m. One solution would be floating plants that can be anchored in deeper waters.

Another aspect is that wind is much weaker near the coast than further out at sea. For this reason, the ideal solution would be a technology that is able to utilize winds at high altitudes. They are not only stronger than wind experienced near the coast. They also blow much more regularly.

Circling kites instead of rotor blades

The Stephan Wrage was born in Hamburg and is a passionate sailor and kite surfer. That may explain his affinity to the sea and his excitement for stunt kites. In 2001, the graduate industrial engineer founded the company SkySails. With a team of now 50 employees, the company is busy with the use of wind energy for energy production and has developed its innovative technology to market maturity.

Stephan Wrage was honored in 2004 by the British JCI with the Outstanding Young Person Award for the development of the functional principle behind SkySails. In 2008, WWF and Capital magazine awarded him the title of “Eco-Manager of the Year”. The SkySails Power project is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. Project partners are EnBW, EWE and the Institute of Propulsion Systems and Power Electronics.

In the metropolitan region of Hamburg with its proximity to the maritime world and its numerous projects in the field of renewable energies, the company finds optimal conditions for its further development. In addition to its headquarters in Hamburg, SkySails has set up a production and testing center in Wismar within the Hamburg metropolitan region.

SkySails Power can be considered the next generation of wind power. The project started in 2011 and will soon be available on the market. The core of the system is a fully automatically controlled towing kite, which can ascend up to heights of 800 m. Its starting point is a floating carrier platform on which the electric generator and an automatic start and landing system are located. In contrast to conventional wind turbines, this platform can also be used at sea depths of up to 700 m.

For power generation by the kite a pull rope is unwound from a winch, which is connected to a power generator. When the maximum rope length has been reached, the return phase begins. The generator now works as a motor and rolls the rope back until the rope length is short enough for the next power generation phase. Only a fraction of the energy generated during the power phase is consumed for this procedure.

By combining multiple SkySails systems, power generation and kite retrieval can be optimally coordinated to achieve continuous power generation. Due to the steadily wafting winds, a significantly higher energy yield is achieved than with conventional wind turbines, which operate only at low altitudes and near the coast.

Strong high altitude winds for continuous energy

High altitude winds are not only much stronger than winds at lower altitudes. They are also characterized by a uniformity, as it is not given near the ground in the countryside or on the coast. SkySails wind turbines use this free energy provided by nature for a much more reliable and economical generation of electrical energy. The size of the kites used can be specifically adapted to the local conditions and existing energy requirements.

In addition to the facilities for offshore operation, there is also a model that is housed in a container and can be installed on land. This solution is suitable, for example, for supplying energy to remote areas. In addition, it allows the self-sufficient energy supply of islands, which are no longer dependent on mostly oil-powered generators whose fuel needs to be delivered at high cost.

In addition, there is a SkySails model for seagoing vessels, which can be used for cost-effective generation of on-board power supply.

SkySails Power
in Numbers

50%
cost savings compared to conventional wind power plants
90%
less material costs for plant and platform
0.5-3.5
MW/h power per unit

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Ideal ist, wenn Windkraftanlagen da stehen, wo sie am wenigsten stören und wenn sie den Wind dort einfangen, wo er praktisch immer weht. Automatische Lenkdrachen bieten hier Möglichkeiten, die herkömmliche Windparks ideal ergänzen können.

Herausforderung: Neue Technologie für noch mehr Windenergie

Der Platz für Windkraftanlagen ist begrenzt und das sowohl an Land als auch in Küstennähe. Außerdem lassen Sie sich offshore nur da installieren, wo das Wasser nicht tiefer als 40 m ist. Eine Lösung wären schwimmende Anlagen, die auch in tieferen Gewässern verankert werden können.

Dazu kommt, dass der Wind an der Küste deutlich schwächer weht als weiter draußen auf See. Optimal wäre daher eine Technologie, die in der Lage ist, die Höhenwinde zu nutzen. Die sind nämlich nicht nur stärker als in Küstennähe. Sie wehen auch deutlich regelmäßiger.

Kreisende Drachen statt drehender Rotoren

Der Hamburger Stephan Wrage ist passionierter Segler und Kitesurfer. Das erklärt vielleicht seine Nähe zum Meer und seine Affinität zu Lenkdrachen. 2001 gründete der Diplom Wirtschaftsingenieur das Unternehmen SkySails. Mit einem Team aus mittlerweile 50 Mitarbeitern besachäftigt sich das Unternehmen mit der Nutzung der Windenergie zur Energiegewinnung und hat seine innovative Technologie zur Marktreife entwickelt.

Für die Entwicklung des Funktionsprinzips hinter SkySails wurde Stephan Wrage 2004 von der britischen JCI mit dem Outstanding Young Person Award geehrt.  2008 wurde ihm vom WWF und der Zeitschrift Capital der Titel „Ökomanager des Jahres“ verliehen. Das Projekt SkySails Power wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie gefördert. Projektpartner sind EnBW, EWE und das Institut für Antriebssysteme und Leistungselektronik.

In der Metropolregion Hamburg mit seiner Nähe zur maritimen Welt und seinen zahlreichen Projekten im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien findet das Unternehmen optimale Bedingungen für seine weitere Entwicklung. Neben seinem Hauptsitz in Hamburg hat SkySails daher ein Produktions- und Testzentrum in Wismar in der Metropolregion Hamburg aufgebaut.

SkySails Power kann als die nächste Generation der Windkraft angesehen werden. Das Projekt wurde 2011 begonnen und wird demnach in Kürze seine Marktreife erlangen. Kern des Systems ist ein vollautomatisch gesteuerter Zugdrachen, der bis in Höhen von 800 m aufsteigen kann. Sein Ausgangspunkt ist eine schwimmende Trägerplattform, auf der sich der elektrische Generator und ein automatisches Start- und Landesystem befinden. Im Gegensatz zu konventionellen Windkraftanlagen kann diese Plattform auch bei Meerestiefen bis zu 700 m eingesetzt werden.

Zur Energieerzeugung wird durch den Drachen ein Zugseil von einer Winde gezogen, die mit einem Stromgenerator verbunden ist. Ist die maximale Zugseillänge erreicht, beginnt die Rückholphase. Der Generator arbeitet nun als Motor und rollt das Seil wieder auf, bis die Seillänge kurz genug für die nächste Energieerzeugungsphase ist. Dabei wird nur ein Bruchteil der in der Leistungsphase erzeugten Energie wieder verbraucht.

Durch die Kombination mehrerer solcher SkySails Anlagen lassen sich Stromerzeugung und Rückholung optimal aufeinander abstimmen, um eine kontinuierliche Stromerzeugung zu erreichen. Durch die beständig wehenden Höhenwinde wird dabei eine deutlich höhere Energieausbeute erreicht als mit herkömmlichen Windkraftanlagen, die lediglich in geringen Höhen und in Küstennähe arbeiten.

Beständiger Höhenwind für kontinuierlichen Strom

Höhenwinde sind nicht nur wesentlich stärker als Winde in geringerer Höhe. Sie zeichnen sich auch durch eine Gleichmäßigkeit aus, wie sie in Bodennähe auf dem Land oder an der Küste nicht gegeben ist. Die SkySails Windkraftanlagen nutzen diese kostenlose Energie der Natur für eine deutlich verlässlichere und wirtschaftlichere Erzeugung elektrischer Energie. Dabei lässt sich die Größe der verwendeten Lenkdrachen gezielt an die örtlichen Gegebenheiten und den erforderlichen Energiebedarf anpassen.

Neben den Anlagen für Offshore-Betrieb gibt es auch eine Variante, die in einem Container untergebracht ist und an Land installiert werden kann. Diese Lösung eignet sich zum Beispiel zur Energieversorgung entlegener Gebiete. Außerdem erlaubt sie die autarke Energieversorgung von Inseln, die so nicht mehr von zumeist ölbetriebenen Generatoren abhängig sind, deren Treibstoff kostenaufwendig per Schiff angeliefert werden muss.

Außerdem gibt es eine Variante für Seeschiffe, die zur kostengünstigen Erzeugung der Bord-Energieversorgung eingesetzt werden kann.

SkySails Power
in Numbers

50 %
Kostenersparnis im Vergleich herkömmlicher WKAs
90 %
weniger Materialaufwand für Anlage und Plattform
0,5-3,5
MW/h Leistung pro Einheit

Let's Connect