What a sail can do, a kite can do even better. It flies higher and can therefore use significantly stronger wind currents. And it can easily be used with any ship without affecting its function.

Challenge: Wind energy instead of fuel and emissions

Once the wind blows, every ship has a free energy source that does not cause any emissions. So why not equip a ship with sails to use this energy? With cargo and container ships, however, conventional sails significantly limit functionality and usability.

The solution is a wind-powered drive that is largely detached from the hull and neither restricts the utilization of space of the ship nor interferes with the loading and unloading procedure. A kite fulfills exactly these wishes. It uses the free wind power, saves fuel and reduces the environmental impact.

Solution: A controlled kite that provides propulsion

SkySails was founded in 2001 by graduate industrial engineer Stephan Wrage. With a team of 50 employees, the company is committed to the use of offshore wind energy. SkySails is the first company in the world to develop this technology to market maturity.

In 2004, Stephan Wrage was honored with the Outstanding Young Person Award for the development of the SkySails system. In 2008, WWF and Capital magazine awarded him the title of “Eco-Manager of the Year”. In 2011, SkySails Marine received for the second time the prestigious Sustainable Shipping Award in the Environmental Technology of the Year category, supported by BIMCO, Lloyd’s Register and WWF.

In the metropolitan region of Hamburg, the company finds optimal development and production conditions. In addition to its headquarters in Hamburg, SkySails has also set up a production and testing center in Wismar within the Hamburg metropolitan region.

SkySails Marine is a project that started in 2001 and reached market maturity in 2012. The core of the system is a dynamically controlled towing kite. It is connected via a high-tensile towing rope with a start and landing system on board. This structure is located in the area of ​​the foredeck and therefore does not affect the cargo area or the loading and unloading process.

The system is operated via a control panel on the bridge of the ship. To activate the system, a telescopic mast expands, the kite unfolds and rises to a height of around 200 m in order to use the existing altitude winds. An automatic control system activates targeted maneuvers of the kite, which depend on the wind direction, wind speed and ship speed.

Potential: Environmental relief with cost advantage

In good wind conditions, the SkySails system can generate a power of up to 2 MW. That is up to 25 times more energy per square meter of space than would be possible with conventional sails.

One kilowatt of power per hour costs 6 cents for investment and maintenance of the system. That’s about half the cost of conventional diesel propulsion. At the same time, the CO2 emissions of a ship are reduced by up to 30 tons per day. The International Maritime Organization (IMO) therefore assumes that the SkySails technology can save up to 100 million tonnes of CO2 emissions. This corresponds to around 11% of the share of Germany.

August 2019

SkySails Marine
in Numbers

2
megawatts of energy from high-altitude winds
50 %
cost savings
30
tons of CO2 saved per ship
100 million
less CO2 emissions worldwide
11 %
of the total CO2 emissions of Germany

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Was ein Segel kann, kann ein Drachen noch viel besser. Er fliegt höher und kann daher deutlich stärkere Windströmungen nutzen. Und er lässt sich mit jedem Schiff verwenden, ohne dessen Funktion zu beeinträchtigen.

Herausforderung: Windenergie statt Treibstoff und Emissionen

Sobald der Wind weht, steht jedem Schiff eine Energiequelle zur Verfügung, die kostenlos ist und keinerlei Emissionen verursacht. Was liegt also näher, als Segel zu setzen und diese Energie zu nutzen? Doch besonders bei Fracht- und Containerschiffen schränken konventionelle Segel die Funktionalität und Nutzbarkeit deutlich ein.

Die Lösung ist ein Windantrieb, der von Schiffskörper weitgehend losgelöst ist und weder die Raumnutzung des Schiffes einschränkt noch seine Beladung erschwert. Ein Drachen erfüllt genau diese Wünsche. Er nutzt die kostenlose Windkraft, spart Treibstoffkosten und senkt die Umweltbelastung.

Lösung: Ein Lenkdrachen, der für Vortrieb sorgt

SkySails wurde im Jahre 2001 von dem Hamburger Diplom Wirtschaftsingenieur Stephan Wrage gegründet. Mit einem Team aus mittlerweile 50 Mitarbeitern hat sich das Unternehmen der Nutzung der Windenergie auf See verschrieben. SkySails ist weltweit das erste Unternehmen, das diese Technologie zur Marktreife entwickelt hat.

Für die Entwicklung des SkySails-Systems wurde Stephan Wrage 2004 von  der britischen JCI mit dem Outstanding Young Person Award geehrt. 2008 wurde ihm vom WWF und der Zeitschrift Capital der Titel „Ökomanager des Jahres“ verliehen. 2011 erhielt SkySails Marine zum zweiten Mal den renommierten Sustainable Shipping Award in der Kategorie „Environmental Technology of the Year“, der von der BIMCO, Lloyd’s Register und dem WWF unterstützt wird.

In der Metropolregion Hamburg findet das Unternehmen optimale Entwicklungs- und Produktionsbedingungen. Neben seinem Hauptsitz in Hamburg hat SkySails ein Produktions- und Testzentrum in Wismar in der Metropolregion Hamburg aufgebaut.

SkySails Marine ist ein Projekt, das 2001 begonnen wurde und 2012 Marktreife erlangt hat. Kern des Systems ist ein dynamisch gesteuerter Zugdrachen. Er ist über ein hochfestes Zugseil mit dem Start- und Landesystem an Bord verbunden. Dieser Aufbau befindet sich im Bereich des Vorschiffs und beeinträchtigt daher weder die Ladefläche noch den Lade- und Löschvorgang.

Die Bedienung des Systems erfolgt über ein Steuerpult auf der Brücke. Dabei fährt ein Teleskopmast aus, der Drachen entfaltet sich und geht auf eine Höhe von rund 200 m, um die dort vorhandenen Höhenwinde zu nutzen. Über eine automatische Steuerung führt er dabei gezielte Manöver aus, die sich nach Windrichtung, Windstärke und Schiffsgeschwindigkeit richten.

Potenzial: Umweltentlastung mit Kostenvorteil

Bei gutem Wind kann das SkySails System eine Antriebsleistung bis zu 2 MW erzeugen. Das ist pro Quadratmeter Fläche bis zu 25 Mal mehr Energie als mit herkömmlichen Windantrieben möglich wäre.

Eine Kilowattstunde Antriebsleistung kostet 6 Cent für Investition und Wartung der Anlage. Das ist etwa die Hälfte des Kostenaufwands, den der konventionelle Dieselantrieb erfordert. Gleichzeitig wird der CO2-Ausstoß eines Schiffes um bis zu 30 Tonnen pro Tag gesenkt. Die International Maritime Organization (IMO) geht daher davon aus, dass sich mit der SkySails Technologie bis zu 100 Mio Tonnen CO2-Emissionen einsparen lassen. Das entspricht rund 11 % des Anteils von Deutschland.

Stand: August 2019

SkySails Marine
in Numbers

2
Megawatt Antriebsenergie aus Höhenwind
50 %
Kostenersparnis
30
Tonnen Einsparung an CO2 pro Schiff
100 Mio
weniger Co2-Emissionen weltweit
11 %
der gegenwärtigen CO2-Emissionen Deutschlands

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories