The trend in modern manufacturing is towards globally networked systems in which different partners work together in a tightly meshed network. Added to this is the increasing digitization, which requires smooth and secure data exchange. This is a situation that requires new technologies to meet licensing, copyright, and product liability requirements.

Challenge: Secured production in the digital age

What you can digitize, you can also reproduce lossless. This applies to music and movies as well as to the data set used by a 3D printer to produce a specific component. The growing importance of such additive production processes therefore calls for an effective process to ensure that a part can only be manufactured by a company which is also entitled to do so. And that this part is then undoubtedly recognizable as an original part.

That’s the idea behind SAMPL, the Secure Additive Manufacturing Platform for tomorrow’s Industry 4.0 manufacturing environment.

Solution: Counterfeit security only blockchain can guarantee

The simple authorization by username and password has its limits. Especially because it requires a single instance to store documents and credentials. A server that can be hacked and presents a central security risk. The blockchain, on the other hand, is a distributed system that is cryptographically secured and can contribute to end-to-end security. This makes it ideal for providing license and copyright information.

SAMPL is an effective safety solution especially for additive production processes. 3D print data is provided by the ordering party (OEM). In addition to encrypting this data, a digital license management based on blockchain technology will be integrated into the process of data exchange. In addition, the printed components are provided with “imprinted” RFID chips, which ensure permanent identification and traceability.

The license management extends the established tool for data exchange OpenDXM GlobalX of Prostep AG with an essential security feature. The RFID solution is being introduced by the Hamburg-based company NXP Semiconductors. Other partners include Hamburg-based companies such as consider IT, Airbus Operations, the Institute of Aircraft Cabin Systems of the Hamburg University of Technology and the Hamburg Research Center for Information Systems at the University of Hamburg.

The project is part of the Additive Manufacturing, Imaging, Communication and Engineering (PAICE) initiative and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics (BMWi).

Potential: Getting ready for the requirements of Industry 4.0

SAMPL is one of the technical requirements for the distributed value chains and flexible manufacturing systems of tomorrow and forms a platform for secure data exchange between production partners. This allows OEMs to realize secure on-demand production, thereby reducing storage costs and capital commitment. Pirated copies are effectively prevented. Licenses can be managed securely and reliably. Quality and product liability remain guaranteed.

The project was started in 2016. At the 2017 Hanover Fair, a first functional demonstration of the project was presented, which proved the functionality of the Blockchain / RFID solution.

By project completion in 2019, the beta test of the system will be completed in close cooperation with a 3D printer manufacturer and a mechanical engineering specialist from the Hamburg Metropolitan Region. This will be about first practical applications under real production conditions.

As of September 2019

SAMPL
in Numbers

8
project partners from research and industry
4
companies and institutes from the Hamburg Metropolitan Region
20%
annual growth of the 3D printers market
20 billion
market volume in the production area

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Der Trend in der Fertigung geht zu global vernetzten Systemen, bei denen mehrere Partner in einem dichten Netzwerk zusammenarbeiten. Die Digitalisierung erfordert zudem einen reibungslosen und gesicherten Datenaustausch. Neue Technologien sind nötig, um die Anforderungen an Lizenzierung, Urheberrecht und Produkthaftung zu erfüllen.

Herausforderung: Gesicherte Produktion im digitalen Zeitalter

Was man digitalisieren kann, kann man auch verlustfrei vervielfältigen. Das trifft auf Musik und Filme genauso zu, wie auf den Datensatz, mit denen ein 3D-Drucker ein bestimmtes Bauteil produziert. Die zunehmende Bedeutung solcher additiven Produktionsverfahren verlangt daher nach einem wirkungsvollen Verfahren, mit dem sich sicherstellen lässt, dass nur der ein Teil herstellen kann, der dazu auch berechtigt ist. Und dass dieses Teil anschließend zweifelsfrei als Originalteil zu erkennen ist.

Genau das ist der Gedanke hinter SAMPL, der Secure Additive Manufacturing Plattform für die Industry 4.0 Fertigungsumgebung von morgen.

Lösung: Fälschungssicherheit, wie sie nur die Blockchain gewährleisten kann

Die einfache Berechtigung mittels Benutzername und Passwort hat ihre Grenzen. Vor allem, weil sie eine einzige Instanz erfordert, um Dokumente und Zugangsdaten zu speichern. Einen Server, der sich hacken lässt und ein zentrales Sicherheitsrisiko darstellt. Die Blockchain hingegen ist ein verteiltes System, das kryptografisch abgesichert ist und zu einer End-to-End Sicherheit beitragen kann. Das macht sie ideal zur Bereitstellung von Lizenz- und Urheberinformationen.

SAMPL ist eine wirksame Sicherheitslösung speziell für additive Produktionsprozesse. 3D-Druckdaten werden vom Auftraggeber (OEM) bereitgestellt. Zusätzlich zur Verschlüsselung dieser Daten wird ein digitales Lizenz-Management auf Basis von Blockchain-Technologie in den Prozess des Datenaustausches integriert. Darüber hinaus werden die gedruckten Bauteile mit „eingedruckten“ RFID-Chips versehen, die eine unlösbare Kennzeichnung und Nachverfolgbarkeit gewährleisten.

Das Lizenzmanagement erweitert das etablierte Werkzeug zum Datenaustausch OpenDXM GlobalX der Prostep AG um ein wesentliches Sicherheitsmerkmal. Die RFID Lösung bringt das Hamburger Unternehmen NXP Semiconductors ein. Weitere Partner sind unter anderem Hamburger Unternehmen wie consider IT, Airbus Operations, das Institut für Flugzeug-Kabinensysteme der Technischen Universität Hamburg und das Hamburg Research Center for Information Systems an der Universität Hamburg.

Das Projekt ist Teil der Initiative Additive Manufacturing, Imaging, Communication und Engineering (PAICE) und wird durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft (BMWi) gefördert.

Potenzial: Bereit für die Anforderungen von Industry 4.0

SAMPL ist eine der technischen Voraussetzungen für die verteilten Wertschöpfungsketten und flexiblen Fertigungssysteme von morgen und bildet eine Plattform für den sicheren Datenaustausch zwischen Produktionspartnern. OEMs können damit eine sichere on-demand-Fertigung realisieren und damit Lagerkosten und Kapitalbindung senken. Raubkopien und Fäschungen werden wirksam unterbunden. Lizenzen lassen sich sicher und zuverlässig verwalten. Qualität und Produkthaftung bleiben gewährleistet.

Das Projekt wurde 2016 gestartet. Bereits auf der Hannover Messe 2017 wurde ein erster funktionsfähiger Demonstrationsaufbau des Projekts vorgestellt, mit dem die Funktionsfähigkeit der Blockchain/RFID-Lösung nachgewiesen wurde.

Bis zum Projektabschluss im Jahre 2019 soll in enger Kooperation mit einem 3D-Druckerhersteller und einem Maschinenbau-Spezialisten aus der Metropolregion Hamburg der Betatest des Systems abgeschlossen sein. Dabei geht es um erste praktische Anwendungen unter realen Produktionsbedingungen.

SAMPL
in Numbers

8
Projektpartner aus Forschung und Industrie
4
Unternehmen und Institute aus der Metropolregion Hamburg
20%
jährliches Wachstum bei 3D-Druckern
20 Mrd
Marktvolumen im Produktionsbereich

Let's Connect

Related Stories