Modern lightweight construction increases payloads and save resources in shipbuilding. A joint project is now underway to overcome approval hurdles and pave the way for new technologies.

Challenge: New materials for a boost of efficiency

While lightweight materials are increasingly used in vehicle construction, shipbuilding still stands for steel construction. At least, this applies to commercial ships and cruise ships. At the same time, seagoing vessels are associated with a high consumption of resources and would therefore especially benefit from modern lightweight construction technologies.

The development of modern lightweight technologies for maritime applications has made great strides in recent years. However, the full potential has not yet been reached. The main reasons for this are the lengthy approval procedures of international classification societies. But there are also missing rules that designers can use as a guideline.

Solution: Easier approval through standardization

RAMSSES – Realization and Demonstration of Advanced Material Solutions for Sustainable and Efficient Ships – is an EU-funded project that focuses on the recognition and increased use of advanced materials in the European maritime industry. The project started in 2017 and is expected to be completed by 2021.

The focus is on 13 so-called demonstrators, with which the market-oriented application of innovative materials in shipbuilding is to be demonstrated. The Hamburg based Center for Maritime Technologies (CMT) primarily focuses on the technical project management and takes an active role in the development and testing of the demonstrators.

In addition, the CMT is in direct dialogue with maritime classification societies and draws up proposals for a significant simplification of the approval procedures, which are currently based primarily on the use of steel construction techniques. The focus is on the collection of relevant data and the establishment of standardized test procedures for the use of alternative building materials in the maritime sector.

Potential: Lightweight construction by combining steel and plastics

The demonstrators developed as part of the RAMSSES project cover a broad field and demonstrate which innovative solutions can characterize the shipbuilding of tomorrow.

One part of the project, for example, deals with modular lightweight components that enable heavy-duty interior walls and superstructures made of lightweight materials. Examples of this are standardized deck systems for RoRo ships and modular cabins for cruise ships. Other project participants deal with the production of propeller blades using additive manufacturing processes (3D printing). Other projects include lightweight rudder fins and hull sections.

Additional projects focus on the targeted use of composite materials, such as the combination of aluminum with non-metallic materials.

RAMSSES also deals with suitable production and assembly processes and the assessment of the technical performance, cost efficiency and environmental impact of the solutions developed. The individual demonstrators are manufactured under practical conditions and tested on land or on board.

RAMSSES
in Numbers

90,000
ships on the oceans
90%
of global commercial traffic
2,6%
of global CO2 emissions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Auch im Schiffbau würden moderne Leichtbau-Konstruktionen Nutzlasten erhöhen und Ressourcen sparen. Ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt nutzt neue Technologien zur Lösungsfindung.

Herausforderung: Neue Materialien für deutlich mehr Effizienz

Während im Fahrzeugbau zunehmend Leichtbau-Materialien eingesetzt werden, steht Schiffbau noch immer für Stahlbau. Das trifft zumindest auf kommerzielle Schiffe und Kreuzfahrtschiffe zu. Gleichzeitig ist gerade der Schiffsverkehr mit einem hohen Ressourcenverbrauch verbunden und würde von modernen Leichtbau-Technologien besonders profitieren.

Die Entwicklung moderner Leichtbau-Technologien für maritime Anwendungen hat zwar in den letzten Jahren große Fortschritte gemacht. Dennoch wurde das mögliche Potenzial noch nicht annähernd erreicht. Gründe dafür sind vor allem die langwierigen Zulassungsverfahren der internationalen Klassifizierungsgesellschaften. Aber auch fehlende Regelwerke, an denen sich Konstrukteure orientieren können sind ein Hemmnis.

Lösung: Einfachere Zulassung durch Standardisierung

RAMSSES – Realisation and Demonstration of Advanced Material Solutions for Sustainable and Efficient Ships – ist ein von der EU gefördertes Projekt, bei dem es um die Anerkennung und den verstärkten Einsatz fortschrittlicher Materialien in der europäischen maritimen Industrie geht. Das Projekt wurde 2017 gestartet und soll bis 2021 abgeschlossen sein.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei 13 sogenannte Demonstratoren, mit denen die marktgerechte Anwendung innovativer Materialien im Schiffbau demonstriert werden soll. Das Hamburger Center for Maritime Technologies (CMT) übernimmt dabei vor allem das technische Projektmanagement und hat eine aktive Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Erprobung der Demonstratoren.

Außerdem steht das CMT im direkten Dialog mit maritimen Klassifizierungsgesellschaften und erarbeitet Vorschläge zu einer deutlichen Vereinfachung der Zulassungsverfahren, die momentan vor allem auf dem Einsatz von Stahlbau-Techniken beruhen. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Sammlung relevanter Daten und die Etablierung standardisierter Testverfahren für den Einsatz alternativer Baumaterialien im maritimen Bereich.

Potenzial: Gezielter Leichtbau in Stahl und Kunststoff

Die im Rahmen von RAMSSES entwickelten Demonstratoren decken ein breites Feld ab und zeigen, welche innovativen Lösungen den Schiffbau von morgen auszeichnen können.

In einem Teil des Projekts geht es zum Beispiel um modulare Leichtbau-Komponenten, die hochbelastbare Innenwände und Aufbauten aus Leichtbau-Materialien ermöglichen. Beispiele dafür sind standardisierte Decksysteme für RoRo-Schiffe und modulare Kabinen für Kreuzfahrtschiffe. Andere Projektteilnehmer befassen sich mit der Produktion von Propellerblättern mithilfe additiver Herstellungsverfahren (3D-Duck), mit Leichtbau-Ruderflossen und -Rumpfsektionen.

Es geht aber auch um den gezielten Einsatz von Verbundmaterialien, wie zum Beispiel die Kombination aus Aluminium mit nicht-metallischen Werkstoffen.

Darüber hinaus befasst sich RAMSSES mit geeigneten Produktions- und Montageprozessen und der Beurteilung der technischen Leistung, Kosteneffizienz, und Umweltbelastung der erarbeiteten Lösungen. Die einzelnen Demonstratoren werden unter praxisnahen Bedingungen hergestellt und an Land oder an Bord erprobt.

RAMSSES
in Numbers

90.000
Schiffe auf den Weltmeeren
90 %
des weltweiten Warenverkehrs
2,6 %
der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories