In the aircraft industry not only weight is an issue. There is also extremely high emphasis on safety. Plus airlines are increasingly demanding a brand-specific cabin design that stands out from the competition. All this calls for innovative solutions that combine functionality with flexibility.

Challenge: Displays combining more flexibility with less weight

In the cabin of a modern aircraft, there are countless wiring harnesses that transmit information, deliver audio and video signals to every seat, and support a variety of control functions.

A typical example are the displays, which prompt passengers to put on their belt and are used to inform about the availability of lavatories. They are part of every aircraft, but are designed differently depending on the individual airline. This not only requires individually tailored cable routing, but also calls for customer-specific display units.

Solution: Printed cables with integrated LED displays

With printed electrics, Airbus is breaking new ground and has developed an innovative solution in a joint project with Altran, which will open up completely new possibilities for aircraft wiring.

The principle can be explained in a few words: Self-adhesive plastic films that require neither cable ties nor fastening clips replace conventional wire harnesses. Using conventional inkjet or screen printing technologies, the required conductors are simply printed on them with an electrically conductive ink. But that’s not all: The display units and sensors at several locations of the cabin no longer require separate cabling, but are simply attached directly to the film.

This solution offers a whole range of vital advantages. Not only is it considerably lighter than any conventional cabling. It is also allows easier adaption to different customer requirements. Plus it supports efficient manufacturing processes using the latest automation technology, while speeding up final assembly and increasing reliability. In other words, considerable weight reduction meets increased flexibility and functionality wile offering simplified logistics and significant cost advantages.

The printed electrics technology was developed by Airbus in close collaboration with the engineering and R&D service provider Altran at the Center for Applied Aerospace Research (ZAL) in Hamburg Finkenwerder.

At the Aircraft Interiors Expo 2018, a first demonstratior of the project received the Crystal Cabin Award in the Materials and Components category sponsored by the city of Hamburg. The technology is currently undergoing extensive testing to prove its reliability in accordance with IATA’s strict criteria.

Potential: The end of wire harnesses

For Airbus, printed electrics are part of a long-term strategy to create flexible solutions that open up new capabilities and enable far-reaching customization of aircraft interiors. This technology also supports the realization individual customer requirements in a shorter time with less effort.

The further development of this technology aims at using printed electrics also in the field of higher electrical currents. Another goal is to even omit the carrier foil and apply printed conductors directly to the vehicle structure.

As of September 2019

Printed Electrics
in Numbers

0%
weight savings compared to conventional cables
0
fasteners required
40
fewer components

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Im Flugzeugbau zählt nicht nur jedes Gramm Gewicht. Es ist auch höchste Sicherheit gefragt. Und die Airlines verlangen zunehmend nach einem markentypischen Kabinendesign, das sich vom Wettbewerb abhebt. Das verlangt nach innovativen Lösungen, die Funktionalität mit Flexibilität verbinden.

Herausforderung: Mehr Flexibilität, weniger Gewicht in der Anzeigetechnik

In der Kabine eines modernen Flugzeugs gibt es unzählige Kabelbäume, die Informationen übertragen, Audio und Video-Signale an jeden Sitzplatz liefern und für unterschiedliche Bedienfunktionen erforderlich sind.

Ein typisches Beispiel dafür sind die Anzeigen, mit denen die Passagiere zum Anlegen des Gurtes aufgefordert und auf besetzte Toiletten hingewiesen werden. Sie sind in jedem Flugzeug enthalten, werden aber je nach Fluggesellschaft unterschiedlich ausgeführt. Das erfordert nicht nur eine individuell konfektionierte Kabelführung, sondern auch kundenspezifisch ausgelegte Displayeinheiten.

Lösung: Gedruckte Kabel mit integrierten LED-Displays

Unter dem Stichwort Printed Electrics geht Airbus völlig neue Wege und hat in einem gemeinsamen Projekt mit Altran eine innovative Lösung entwickelt, die der Verkabelung von Flugzeugen völlig neue Möglichkeiten eröffnen soll.

Das Prinzip lässt sich mit wenigen Worten erläutern: Anstelle handkonfektionierter Kabelbäume treten selbstklebende Kunststofffolien, die weder Kabelbinder noch Befestigungsclips benötigen. Auf diese werden die erforderlichen Leiterbahnen einfach mit einer elektrisch leitfähigen Farbe aufgedruckt – und das mit  konventionellem Inkjet- oder Siebdruck. Nicht nur das: auch die Anzeigen und Sensoren an mehreren Stellen der Kabine erfordern keine separate Verkabelung mehr, sondern werden direkt auf den Folienträger aufgebracht.

Diese Lösung bietet eine ganze Reihe entscheidender Vorteile. Sie ist nicht nur erheblich leichter als jede konventionelle Verkabelung. Sie lässt sich auch wesentlich einfacher an unterschiedliche Kundenwünsche anpassen. Außerdem nutzt sie die aktuelle Automatisierungstechnik, wodurch die Montage beschleunigt und die Zuverlässigkeit erhöht wird. Anders gesagt: hier trifft eine nicht unerhebliche Gewichtsreduzierung auf erhöhte Flexibilität und Funktionalität bei vereinfachter Logistik und deutlichen Kostenvorteilen.

Das Projekt Printed Electrics wurde von Airbus in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Engineering- und F&E-Dienstleister Altran im Zentrum für angewandte Luftfahrt-Forschung (ZAL) in Hamburg Finkenwerder entwickelt.

Auf der Aircraft Interiors Expo 2018 erhielt ein erstes Demonstrationsmodell des Projekts den von der Hansestadt Hamburg geförderten Crystal Cabin Award in der Kategorie Materials and Components. Derzeit durchläuft die Technologie umfangreiche Tests, um ihre Zuverlässigkeit nach den strengen Kriterien der IATA nachzuweisen. Die Markteinführung ist bis 2020 geplant.

Potenzial: Der Anfang vom Ende des Kabelbaums

Für Airbus ist Printed Electrics Teil einer langfristigen Strategie, flexible Lösungen zu schaffen, die neue Funktionen eröffnen und eine weitreichende Individualisierung der Flugzeug-Innenräume ermöglichen. Außerdem geht es darum, künftig individuelle Kundenwünsche in kürzerer Zeit und mit weniger Aufwand realisieren zu können.

Die weitere Entwicklungsarbeit zielt darauf ab, Printed Electrics auch im Bereich höherer elektrischer Leistungen einzusetzen. Und es geht darum, künftig selbst auf die Trägerfolie zu verzichten und gedruckte Leiterbahnen direkt auf die Fahrzeugstruktur aufzubringen.

Printed Electrics
in Numbers

30%
Gewichtsersparnis gegenüber herkömmlichen Kabeln
0
Befestigungen durch Halter
40%
weniger Komponenten

Let's Connect

Related Stories