The Hamburg start-up Nüwiel wants to make mobility in the city more environmentally friendly and sustainable with its intelligent bicycle trailers designed for transportation. Motorised load carriers do already exist, but the intelligent technology of the three young Hamburg engineers Natalia Tomiyama, Fahad Khan and Sandro Rabbiosi is utterly unique in this respect. “Nü”, by the way, is Low German for “new”. “Wiel” is the Dutch term for “wheel”.

Challenge: Transport of heavy loads in the city

People who cycle through the city, not only exercise more than car drivers, but they often reach their destination faster. But what if you want to transport heavy loads over long distances? The three founders’ vision: City transport is up to 50 per cent faster than by car; there are fewer traffic jams, less noise and less air pollution.

Solution: Intelligent bicycle trailer

The solution is just as simple as it is ingenious: an electric powered bicycle trailer that reacts to external conditions to support and relieve its driver.

The intelligent trailer can easily be coupled with any bicycle. Sensors measure everything, be it uphill or downhill and whichever load the trailer carries.

They assess the distance between the bicycle and the trailer and send a signal to the brakes or the engine via the control system.

The electric motor then suitably provides more or less thrust or brakes on downhill terrain. This is ensured by a triple secured braking system that works even with an empty battery. The highlight: Charging the battery can be done by connecting it to an ordinary power outlet or through the cyclist’s pedalling.

Nüwiel’s founders come from the start-up dock of the Technical University of Hamburg Harburg (TUHH). In 2016, they founded their business. Many components are developed and built by the team right in the University, also in an innovative manner, by 3D printing. They convinced people with their sustainable idea and benefited from regional funding programmes such as EXIST, InnorampUp and Climate-KIC.

Potential: Offering the product to private customers

In the future, bicycles will play an even greater role in transportation. The fact that one of the largest logistics companies in the world, UPS, has equipped its bicycle couriers with Nüwiel’s trailers in both Hamburg and Berlin, in the meantime, shows the Hamburg founders’ keen sense of intuition: Their innovation meets the Zeitgeist. Nüwiel is still only focusing on B2B, especially on the logistics sector. Yet soon they will be offering the innovation to private customers – for example to shops or to transport precious cargo: their own kids.

More about Nüwiel

 

 

 

Trend researcher meets start-up. Wippermann vs. Nüwiel:



 

 

 

Team Nüwiel introduces themselves and their innovation:



Nüwiel
in Numbers

5
Prototypes
120
Parts in each trailer
33%
Percentage of women in the team
3
Founders
9
Employees
100Kg
Maximal Load
2016
Founded
5
Cooperation Partners

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Mit intelligenten Fahrradanhängern für Transporte will das Hamburger Startup Nüwiel die Mobilität in der Stadt umweltfreundlicher gestalten und nachhaltig verändern. Motorisierte Lastenträger gibt es zwar bereits, aber die intelligente Technologie der drei jungen Hamburger Ingenieure Natalia Tomiyama, Fahad Khan und Sandro Rabbiosi ist in dieser Form bisher einzigartig. „Nü“ ist übrigens plattdeutsch und bedeutet „neu“. „Wiel“ ist der holländische Ausdruck für „Rad“.

Herausforderung: Lasten in der Innenstadt transportieren

Wer mit dem Fahrrad durch die Stadt fährt, bewegt sich nicht nur mehr als Autofahrer, sondern kommt in vielen Fällen schneller ans Ziel. Doch was, wenn man auf langer Strecke schwere Lasten transportieren will? Die Vision der drei Gründer: Transporte in der Stadt sind bis zu 50 Prozent schneller als per PKW, es gibt weniger Staus, Lärm und Luftverschmutzung.

Lösung: Ein intelligenter Anhänger

Die Lösung ist so einfach wie genial: ein elektrisch betriebener Fahrradanhänger, der auf äußere Gegebenheiten reagiert und den Fahrer unterstützt und entlastet.

Der intelligente Anhänger lässt sich problemlos an jedes Fahrrad ankuppeln. Ob es bergauf- oder bergab geht und welche Last der Anhänger trägt, wird von Sensoren gemessen.

Sie bewerten die Distanz zwischen Fahrrad und Anhänger und senden ein Signal über das Kontrollsystem an die Bremsen oder an den Motor.

Dementsprechend gibt der Elektromotor mehr oder weniger Schub oder bremst bei abschüssigem Gelände. Dafür sorgt ein dreifach abgesichertes Bremssystem, das selbst bei leerem Akku funktioniert. Der Clou: Aufgeladen wird der Akku an ganz normalen Steckdosen oder durch Treten des Radfahrers.

Die Gründer von Nüwiel kommen aus dem Startup-Dock der Technischen Universität Hamburg Harburg (TUHH).  2016 gründeten sie ihr Business. Viele Bauteile entwickelt und baut das Team an der TU selbst, auch ganz innovativ im 3D-Drucker. Sie überzeugten mit ihrer nachhaltigen Idee und profitierten von regionalen Förderprogrammen wie EXIST, InnorampUp und Climate-KIC.

Potenzial: Weitere Zielgruppen im Blick

https://future.hamburg/story/start-up-meets-futurologist/Fahrräder werden künftig eine noch größere Rolle im Verkehr übernehmen. Dass inzwischen eines der größten Logistikunternehmen der Welt, UPS, seine Fahrradkuriere sowohl in Hamburg als auch in Berlin mit den Anhängern von Nüwiel ausrüstet, zeigt das gute Gespür der Hamburger Gründer: Ihre Innovation trifft den Zeitgeist. Noch fokussiert Nüwiel auf B2B, insbesondere auf den Bereich Logistik. Schon bald soll die Innovation auch Privatkunden angeboten werden – zum Beispiel für Einkäufe oder auch zum Transport einer süßen Last: der eigenen Kids.

Mehr über Nüwiel

 

 

 

Trendforscher trifft Start-Up. Wippermann vs. Nüwiel:



 

 

 

Ein Start-Up stellt sich vor



Nüwiel
in Numbers

5
Prototype
120
Verbaute Komponenten pro Trailer
33%
Anteil weibliche Mitarbeiter
3
Gründer
100Kg
Zuladungsgewicht des Hängers
2016
Gründungsjahr

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories