Proof of identity in Germany has been identified with the postident until now. But this procedure does not really fit into our digital age. With NECT identifying oneself is quicker, easier and can be done directly from home.

If you have a smartphone, you can identify yourself

Many businesses are simply not possible without proof of identification. For example, to prevent money laundering and terrorism, the owners of bank accounts and telephone numbers need to be known. Effective fraud prevention also requires knowing the identity of a customer, especially when doing business over the Internet.

On site this is no problem, because everyone can identify himself by simply showing a passport. But in the digital world, it is quite cumbersome to first print out a form only to identify oneself at the counter of the postal service via Postident. Just as it is rather complex to deal with an app, to prove one’s identity to a call center agent. What is needed here is a solution that works intuitively and only takes a few minutes to complete.

Easy identification via mobile app

Benny Bennet Jürgens is a computer scientist who worked for several years in an insurance company. In his industry, it was known that the traditional methods of identification are not only time consuming and quite cumbersome. They also overwhelm many customers, who for this very reason refrain from registering.

There must be a better way, thought the native of Hamburg. Better than calling a service center, where you have to wait for a long time for an employee who will verbally lead you through the entire authorization process. Much better than the traditional Postident method, which represents a media break and is actually outdated.

Benny Bennet Jürgens started his own business together with Carlo Ulbrich in 2016 and both immediately went about realizing their idea. The result convinced immediately and soon the young startup received renown awards: 1st place in the Startup Pitch 2017 of the Deutsche Bahn, 1st place in the competition “Gründergeist 2017 of the Wirtschaftsjunioren Hamburg, 1st place at the KPMG Smart Start Award 2017, 1. Place at the inQventures Start-up Boostival 2018 and 1st place at the German Excellence Award 2019.

In 2018 Jürgens was named founder of the year 2018 in the Software category. To date, the team has received over 15 awards for its innovative power. Customers and users are also thrilled, as shown for example by an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars in the AppStore.

The business idea of NECT is based on two products: Selfie Ident and Card Ident.

Selfie Ident allows easy identification without any manual support. The user is guided through the entire process in just 3 uncomplicated steps. He just takes a selfie of himself and then takes a picture of the front and back of his identity card.

Card Ident is designed to capture the identity of a customer at the point of sale. The sales consultant simply scans the front and back of the ID card with his cell phone. The data is then automatically collected and loaded to the system. This saves time and clearly documents the identity of the customer.

Well-known software providers have been working unsuccessfully since 2016 on an AI-based identity identification solution. Within just one year, NECT was able to overtake these competitors and provide the insurance industry with the first fully automated identification system. The development of this innovation was made possible by the promotion of IFB Bank Hamburg.

Simple solutions are often the best ideas

Selfie Ident and Card Ident are simple solutions that allow quick identification without the customer having to overcome time-consuming procedures or technical hurdles. Both procedures went live in 2018 and have since been used by several well-known insurers.

So far, the clear identification of the customer was a very significant hurdle, which probably thwarted many a purchase decision. But the first users of Selfie Ident confirm that the cancellation rate of the identification process is considerably reduced.

It pays to think about how to simplify an unsatisfactory process.

NECT
in Numbers

2
applications for identification via mobile app
5
minutes for identification (maximum)
25%
lower dropout rate compared to previous methods
5 million
users (as of 2018)

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Identitätsnachweis hieß bisher vor allem Postident – ein Verfahren, das eigentlich nicht in unser digitales Zeitalter passt. Mit NECT geht das schneller, einfacher und direkt von zu Hause aus.

Wer ein Smartphone hat, kann sich ausweisen

Viele Geschäfte sind ohne Identifikationsnachweis nicht möglich. Zur Vermeidung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismus müssen die Inhaber von Konten und Telefonnummern bekannt sein. Auch zur Betrugsvermeidung ist es besonders bei Geschäften über das Internet sinnvoll, die Vertragspartner zu kennen.

Vor Ort ist das kein Problem, denn jeder kann sich ausweisen. Doch in der digitalen Welt ist es doch recht umständlich, ein Formular auszudrucken, um sich zu identifizieren. Oder es kostet Nerven, sich erst mit einer App auseinanderzusetzen, nur um die eigene Identität nachzuweisen. Gefragt ist hier eine Lösung, die intuitiv funktioniert und nur wenige Minuten Zeit erfordert.

Identifikation einfach per Handy-App

Benny Bennet Jürgens ist Informatiker und hat mehrere Jahre in einer Versicherung gearbeitet. In seiner Branche wusste man, dass die herkömmlichen Verfahren zur Identifizierung nicht nur zeitraubend und recht umständlich sind. Sie überfordern auch so manchen Kunden, der schon aus diesem Grund von einer Registrierung absieht.

Da muss es einen besseren Weg geben, überlegte der gebürtige Hamburger. Besser als der Anruf bei einem Service-Center, wo man erst einmal lange auf einen Mitarbeiter warten muss, um dann mündlich durch den gesamten Autorisierungsprozess geführt zu werden. Viel besser als das Postident-Verfahren, das einen Medienbruch darstellt und eigentlich nicht mehr zeitgemäß ist.

Benny Bennet Jürgens machte sich 2016 zusammen mit Carlo Ulbrich selbstständig und beide gingen umgehend daran, ihre Idee zu verwirklichen. Das Ergebnis überzeugte sofort und schon bald hagelte es Preise für das junge Startup:  1.Platz im Startup Pitch 2017 der Deutschen Bahn, 1.Platz im Wettbewerb „Gründergeist 2017 der Wirtschaftsjunioren Hamburg, 1. Platz beim KPMG Smart Start Award 2017, 1. Platz beim inQventures Start-up Boostival 2018 und 1. Platz beim Deutschen Exzellenz-Preis 2019.

2018 wurde Jürgens zum Gründer des Jahres 2018 in der Kategorie Software gekürt. Bis dato hat das Team für seine Innovationskraft über 15 Prämierungen erhalten. Auch Kunden und Nutzer sind begeistert, wie zum Beispiel eine durchschnittliche Bewertung von 4,5 von 5 möglichen Sternen im AppStore zeigt.

Die Geschäftsidee von NECT gründet sich auf zwei Produkte: Selfie Ident und Card Ident.

Selfie Ident erlaubt die einfache Identifizierung ohne fremde Hilfe. Der Anwender wird in nur 3 unkomplizierten Schritten durch den gesamten Prozess geführt. Er macht lediglich ein Selfie von sich und nimmt anschließend Vorder- und Rückseite seines Personalausweises auf.

Card Ident ist zur schnelleren Erfassung der Identität am Point of Sale gedacht. Hier scannt der Verkaufsberater Vorder- und Rückseite des Ausweises mit seinem Handy ein. Die Daten werden dann automatisch erfasst und in das System eingelesen. Das spart Zeit und dokumentiert eindeutig die Identität des Kunden.

Bekannte Anbieter arbeiten bereits seit 2016 erfolglos an einer KI-basierten Lösung zur Identitätsfeststellung. Innerhalb von nur einem Jahr konnte NECT diese Wettbewerber überholen und mit der ersten vollautomatisierten Identitätsfeststellung der Versicherungsbranche in die Geschichte eingehen. Die Entwicklung dieser Innovation wurde maßgeblich durch die Förderung der IFB Hamburg ermöglicht.

Die einfachen Lösungen sind oft die besten Ideen

Selfie Ident und Card Ident überzeugen, weil es einfache Lösungen sind, die eine schnelle Identifizierung erlauben, ohne dass der Kunde Zeit raubende Verfahren oder technische Hürden überwinden muss. Beide Verfahren gingen 2018 live und werden seither von mehreren namhaften Versicherern genutzt.

Bisher stellte die eindeutige Identifizierung des Kunden eine ganz erhebliche Hürde da, die vermutlich so manche Kaufentscheidung vereitelte. Doch die ersten Kunden bestätigen, dass vor allem mit Selfie Ident die Abbruchrate des Identifizierungsprozesses ganz erheblich reduziert wird.

Es lohnt sich eben, wenn man darüber nachdenkt, wie man einen unbefriedigenden Vorgang vereinfachen könnte.

NECT
in Numbers

2
Anwendungen zur Identifizierung per Handy-App
5
Minuten Zeitaufwand zur Identifizierung (maximal)
25%
geringere Abbruchrate im Vergleich zu bisherigen Verfahren
57 Mio.
Nutzer (Stand 2018)

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories