In shipping, logbooks are still being opened to manually document a cruise. And there are numerous on-board documents on which the digital age has so far passed without a trace. A small startup in Hamburg wants to change that.

The challenge: Digital records instead of paper documents

In maritime logistics, many processes still work the same way as they always did: The captain keeps a logbook and documents the entire journey by hand. And this although GPS navigation has long been the norm and all geographic data are available in digital form.

In addition, there are an average of 10 log books per ship that need to be manually recorded and updated. Deck plans, for example, document all the characteristics of the ship in detail, the Oil Record records all consumptions and dangerous substances on board must be meticulously documented. Many data are transferred by hand, which of course never excludes transmission errors.

The solution: Digital processes instead of manual records

Otto Klemke works according to a simple principle, consisting of listening, learning, doing better. Klemke studied Media Informatics at the University of Applied Sciences in Wedel and quickly made a name for himself as a consultant, who first enters a topic in order to digitalize established business processes from within.

In contacts with shipping companies and service providers in the field of maritime logistics, Klemke quickly realized that ships are still anything but digitized. This discovery led to the founding of NautilusLog in 2018. The company was one of the first to become part of the new Hamburg-based Digital Hub Logistics.

There is, for example, the good old logbook. Here information is entered by hand, although they are delivered by the satellite navigation on board anyway. For this process, NautilusLog needs nothing more than an app that retrieves geographic data from the navigation system and automatically creates the logbook.

With the various logbooks that a ship has to maintain, the focus is on another aspect. Digitization here means that information does not have to be entered more than once. Self-learning forms provide already existing information and are simply filled out on a Smartphone. In this way, regular audits are completed in less time and the required reports can be created without having to recapture everything every time.

In March 2018, NautilusLog received a project grant from the Federal Office for Economic Affairs, Transport and Innovation (BWVI) to secure the further development of the system. Additional project funding was provided by the Hamburg Investment and Development Bank (IFB).

In May 2018, the company received the Hamburg Innovations Award, the Pitch Blue Award from the Verband Deutscher Reeder, and the Digital Logistics Award. It is also in the final round of the Reeperbahn Festival 2019 and participates in the 3rd BMWI Startup-Pitch.

Potential: Closer links between ship, shipping company and certification

NautilusLog has already developed the software for digitizing nautical processes. Currently, the focus is on adapting it to the legal framework, which currently refers exclusively to paper documents. Thereafter, nothing stands in the way of digital on-board documentation.

The goal of NautilusLog is the direct link between the data generated on board and the shipping company. Another aspect are targeted services that offer added value to certification authorities as well as to government authorities and shipping companies.

NautilusLog
in Numbers

78.000
ships worldwide
1
smartphone App
18
digitized logbooks
35
different applications

Let's Connect

Related Stories

In der Schifffahrt werden noch heute Logbücher aufgeschlagen, um eine Fahrt mit dem Kugelschreiber zu dokumentieren. Und es gibt zahlreiche Borddokumente, an denen das Digitalzeitalter bisher spurlos vorübergegangen ist. Ein kleines Startup in Hamburg will das ändern.

Herausforderung: Digitale Aufzeichnungen statt Dokumente auf Papier

In der maritimen Logistik läuft heute noch vieles so, wie es immer war. Der Kapitän führt ein Logbuch und dokumentiert die gesamte Fahrt von Hand. Und das in einer Zeit, in der längst per GPS navigiert wird und alle geografischen Daten digital vorliegen.

Daneben gibt es durchschnittlich 10 Bordbücher pro Schiff, die manuell erfasst und aktualisiert werden wollen. So dokumentieren zum Beispiel Deckpläne detailliert alle Merkmale des Schiffes, im Oil Record werden alle Verbräuche notiert und auch Gefahrenstoffe an Bord müssen penibel festgehalten werden. Viele Daten werden dafür von Hand übertragen, was natürlich Übertragungsfehler nie ausschließt.

Lösung: Digitale Prozesse anstelle von manuellen Aufzeichnungen

Otto Klemke arbeitet nach einem einfachen Prinzip und das heißt zuhören, lernen, besser machen. Klemke studierte Medieninformatik an der Fachhochschule Wedel und machte sich schnell als Consultant einen Namen, der erst einmal in ein Thema einsteigt, um dann von innen heraus etablierte Unternehmensprozesse zu digitalisieren.

Bei Kontakten mit Reedern, und Dienstleistern im Bereich der maritimen Logistik erkannte Klemke schnell, dass man auf dem Schiff noch weit von jeder Digitalisierung entfernt ist. Diese Erkenntnisse führten 2018 zur Gründung von NautilusLog. Das Unternehmen gehörte zu den Ersten, die in Teil des neuen Hamburger Digital Hub Logistics wurden.

Da ist zum Beispiel das gute alte Logbuch. Hier werden Informationen von Hand eingetragen, obwohl sie von der Satelliten-Navigation an Bord ohnehin geliefert werden. NautilusLog braucht dafür nicht mehr als eine App, die sich die benötigten Geodaten vom Navigationssystem holt und das Logbuch automatisch erstellt.

Bei den Bordbüchern, die ein Schiff mitführen muss, steht ein anderer Aspekt im Mittelpunkt. Hier bewirkt  Digitalisierung, dass Angaben nicht mehrmals erfasst werden müssen. Lernfähige Formulare werden am Smartphone ausgefüllt und geben dabei ohnehin vorhandene Daten automatisch vor. Regelmäßige Audits sind schneller erledigt und die erforderlichen Gutachten lassen sich erstellen, ohne dass jedes Mal alles neu erfasst werden muss.

Im März 2018 erhielt NautilusLog vom Bundesamt für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Innovation (BWVI) eine Projektförderung, mit der die Weiterentwicklung des Systems gesichert werden konnte. Eine zusätzliche Projektförderung gab es von der Hamburgischen Investitions- und Förderbank (IFB).

Im Mai 2018 erhielt das Unternehmen den Hamburger Innovations Award, den Pitch Blue Award vomn Verband Deutscher Reeder, sowiue den Digital Logistics Award. Außerdem befindet es sich im Finale des Reeperbahn Festivals 2019 und nimmt am 3. BMWI Startup-Pitch teil.

Potenzial: Engere Verknüpfung zwischen Schiff, Reederei und Zertifizierung

Die Software zur Digitalisierung nautischer Prozesse hat NautilusLog bereits entwickelt. Momentan geht es um die Anpassung der gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen, die sich momentan ausschließlich auf Papierdokumente beziehen. Danach steht der digitalen On-Board-Dokumentation nichts mehr im Weg.

Ziel von NautilusLog ist die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen den an Bord erzeugten Daten mit der Reederei. Auch sollen gezielte Dienstleistungen entstehen, die sowohl den Zertifizierungsstellen als auch Behörden und Reedern einen konkreten Mehr wert bieten.

NautilusLog
in Numbers

78.000
Schiffe weltweit
1
Smartphone-App
18
digitalisierte Logbücher
35
verschiedene Anwendungen

Let's Connect

Related Stories