The urban conurbations are reaching their limits. Driving in the city often means traffic jams, searching for a parking space, frustration. On the other hand, buses and trains rarely travel when you need them and do not always take you exactly to your destination. It is therefore high time to think about new solutions that combine mobility with flexibility.

Challenge: Reducing traffic without restricting mobility

A real alternative to using one’s private automobile needs to be almost as flexible as a car and would have to offer almost the same level of comfort.

Solution: Between taxi and public transportation

MOIA is a company of the Volkswagen Group, which has started to develop a completely new concept that noticeably reduces individual traffic in conurbations without significantly restricting people’s mobility.

The basis for this is a novel vehicle concept. It is a shuttle-on-demand service with electric vehicles that offers everything that contributes to a comfortable ride: Comfortable seats, lots of space legroom, increased privacy.

A key idea behind the concept is pooling. The MOIA bus can accommodate up to 6 people. Passengers with similar destinations share one vehicle. But it is also about flexibility and availability. A mobile app recognizes the location of the passenger and automatically points the way to the next stop – which is never more than 250 meters away. Just as the destination is never further than 250 meters from the nearest station. Fixed routes do not exist and there is no need to change buses.

The technology behind MOIA is a complex software solution that records every driving job and automatically forwards it to the vehicle fleet in such a way that the vehicles are optimally utilized while passengers do not have to wait and get to their destination as quickly as possible. The software is backed by a team of developers in Hamburg and Helsinki. In the beginning of 2019, MOIA will start operation in the Hamburg metropolitan area.
Hamburg is already the most modern German city in the field of digital mobility. This is the conclusion of a study by the auditing and management consultancy PricewaterhouseCoopers, which was scientifically supported by the Institute for Transport Research at the German Aerospace Center (DLR). (May 2017)

Potential: Start of a new age of mobility

The aim of MOIA is to ultimately offer the mobility concept wherever possible in all metropolitan areas. A first test run has already been running in Hanover since October 2017, with real-time operation starting in summer 2018. However, there are still no electric vehicles used, as they will be characteristic of MOIA in the future. The actual big market launch with the MOIA electric vehicles is planned for the beginning of 2019. For this purpose, the metropolitan area of Hamburg was selected, in which, in a first step, 200 electrically powered MOIA vehicles will gradually be commissioned. Depending on demand development, this stock can be increased to up to 1,000 vehicles.

As of September 2019

MOIA
in Numbers

780,000 private cars
are registered in Hamburg
40%
of all rides take place in a private car
20 %
of all rides take place in public transport
200
electric vehicles at the start of MOIA in Hamburg
up to 1,000
vehicles are planned

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Der Verkehr in Metropolen stößt weltweit an seine Grenzen. Individualverkehr bedeutet oft Stau, Parkplatzsuche, Frust. Busse und Bahnen wiederum fahren nicht immer ganz bis zum Zielort. Höchste Zeit also, über neue Lösungen nachzudenken, die Mobilität mit Flexibilität verbinden.

Herausforderung: Verkehr reduzieren, ohne die Mobilität einzuschränken

Eine wirkliche Alternative zum Pkw müsste ähnlich flexibel sein wie das eigene Auto und nahezu denselben Komfort bieten.

Lösung: Zwischen Taxi und ÖPNV

MOIA ist ein Unternehmen der Volkswagen Gruppe, das angetreten ist, ein Konzept zu entwickeln, das den Individualverkehr in Ballungszentren spürbar reduziert, ohne die Mobilität der Menschen nennenswert einzuschränken.
Die Basis dafür ist ein neuartiges Fahrzeug-Konzept. Ein Shuttle-on-Demand-Service soll alles bieten, was eine angenehme Fahrt ausmacht: Bequeme Einzelsitze, viel Bein- und Bewegungsfreiheit, Privatsphäre. Dazu kommt ein Elektroantrieb für minimale Umweltbelastung.
Die Idee basiert auf dem Konzept der Poolbildung. So kann der MOIA Bus bis zu 6 Personen aufnehmen. Das heißt, Fahrgäste mit ähnlicher Fahrtroute teilen sich ein Fahrzeug. Außerdem geht es um Flexibilität und Verfügbarkeit. Eine App erkennt den Standort des Fahrgastes und weist automatisch den Weg zur nächsten Haltestelle. Und die soll nie mehr als 250 Meter entfernt sein. Auch das Ziel soll nie weiter als 250 Meter von der nächsten Haltestelle entfernt sein. Feste Fahrtrouten gibt es nicht. Umsteigen auch nicht.
Technisch basiert MOIA auf einer komplexen Softwarelösung, die jeden Fahrauftrag erfasst und automatisch so an die Fahrzeugflotte weitergibt, dass die Fahrzeuge optimal ausgelastet werden und der Fahrgast möglichst ohne Wartezeit an sein Ziel kommt. Hinter der komplexen Logistik-Software von MOIA steckt ein Entwicklerteam mit Sitz in Hamburg und Helsinki. Anfang 2019 will MOIA seinen Betrieb im Großraum Hamburg aufnehmen.
Hamburg ist im Bereich digitaler Mobilität bereits jetzt die modernste deutsche Stadt. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt eine Studie der Wirtschaftsprüfungs- und Unternehmensberatungsgesellschaft PricewaterhouseCoopers, wissenschaftlich begleitet vom Institut für Verkehrsforschung im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). (Mai 2017)

Potenzial: Start in ein neues Mobilitätszeitalter

Ziel von MOIA ist es, das Mobilitätskonzept letztlich möglichst weltweit in allen Ballungszentren anzubieten. Ein erster Testbetrieb läuft seit Oktober 2017 in Hannover. Dabei werden jedoch noch keine Elektrofahrzeuge eingesetzt, wie sie künftig kennzeichnend für MOIA sein sollen. Der eigentliche große Marktstart ist für Anfang 2019 vorgesehen. Dafür wurde der Großraum Hamburg ausgewählt, in dem dann zunächst 200 elektrisch betriebene MOIA-Fahrzeuge den Betrieb aufnehmen werden. Je nach Bedarfsentwicklung kann dieser Bestand auf bis zu 1.000 Fahrzeuge aufgestockt werden.

MOIA
in Numbers

780.000 PKW
sind im Großraum Hamburg zugelassen
40%
aller Fahrten erfolgen im privaten PKW
20 %
aller Fahrten erfolgen mit dem ÖPNV
200
Elektrofahrzeuge zum Start von MOIA in Hamburg
bis zu 1.000
Fahrzeuge der künftigen MOIA-Flotte

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories