Container ships keep their diesel engines running while lying in the harbor to ensure their energy supply. This has a significant impact on the environment. But a Hamburg based company has developed a solution that meets with worldwide interest.

The challenge: Economical and environmentally friendly energy for container ships

The four container ports in Hamburg are served by nearly 4,000 ships a year. All these ships have their own energy supply, which is maintained even during laytime by constantly running diesel engines. One consequence of this is that around one third of all nitrogen oxides measured in the city of Hamburg are produced in the port alone.

However, a ship with an energy requirement of around 1.5 MW/h can not simply be connected to the public electricity grid. This not only requires investments in the tens of millions. The resulting taxes and levies also lead to a price that is many times higher than the energy generated by the ship itself.

An external energy supply would therefore need to ensure that container ships, at least in port, can switch off their diesel generators. This solution would not only have to be much more environmentally friendly than burning dirty marine diesel. It would also have to be economically viable and provide the necessary security of supply.

The solution: Holistic approach to reducing emissions

HPE Hybrid Port Energy is a subsidiary of Becker Marine Systems and was founded to provide solutions for green energy generation in ports. One project of the company is called LNG PowerPac. It describes two standard 40-foot containers that contain a 1.5 MW/h generator, the necessary control technology and a tank for 8 tonnes of liquid natural gas at a minimum of space.

Such an LNG PowerPac is loaded onto the ship with the container crane in order to be connected to its power grid. Compared to the ship’s diesel engines, it produces clean energy with significantly reduced emissions. CO2 emissions are 20% lower. For NOx it is 80%. Emissions of sulfur and soot are even completely eliminated when burning LNG.

In the US, shore power supply is already mandatory during laytime. All container ships sailing to the US are therefore equipped with the required interface since 2012. On top of that, China also intends to end the self-supply of container ships during laytime as part of its Green Agenda.

The LNG PowerPac matches the already established interface standard. This solution requires no additional infrastructure, because the unit can be handled like any ordinary container and moved to the ship with the already existing equipment. For higher energy requirements, two units can be used in parallel. For longer periods, a second tank can easily be added.

A critical point is the economy of the solution. Energy production via on-board diesel generators costs a maximum of 3 cents per kW/h. However, the costs of supplying energy with the LNG PowerPack are significantly higher. The Hamburg Port Authority (HPA) has therefore decided on a holistic solution and is actively supporting this pilot project: Container ships willing to switch their energy supply to LNG are currently getting a discount on the port charges, which will offset the higher costs involved.

The project LNG PowerPac is considered as a promising pilot project for more environmental protection in the port. This was also recognized by the Federal Ministry of Transport and the project was supported with a promotion of 4 million euros.

Potential: Key technology for less emissions in the port

First field trials with the LNG PowerPac have taken place since 2018 in cooperation with Hapag Lloyd. The container ships of the shipping company used in the transatlantic service already have the necessary infrastructure on board and thus offer optimal conditions for testing the environmentally sound energy supply in the port.

In addition to the HPA, other ports are also aware of the problem and are working to reduce container ship emissions during laytime. The US is the pioneer here and already in 2012 completely switched to shore power supply. As part of its Green Agenda, China is also heading in the same direction. Just as European ports see an urgent need for action.

The LNG PowerPac is an optimal solution. It not only uses established interfaces. It can also be used in any port in the world without the need for further technical preconditions. With this maritime solution, HPE Hybrid Port Energy is considered a leading innovator in the field of environmentally friendly port power supply. The company sees this as a globally viable market and is in close contact with port operators from Europe to China.

LNG PowerPac
in Numbers

20
less CO2 emissions
80
less NOx emissions
0
sulfur emissions
0
particulate matter emissions

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Containerschiffe lassen auch während der Liegezeit im Hafen die Dieselaggregate laufen, um ihre Energieversorgung sicherzustellen. Das führt zu einer erheblichen Umweltbelastung. Doch es gibt eine Hamburger Lösung, die auf weltweites Interesse stößt.

Herausforderung: Wirtschaftliche und umweltfreundliche Energie für Containerschiffe

Die vier Hamburger Containerhäfen werden von fast 4.000 Schiffen pro Jahr angelaufen. All diese Schiffe verfügen über ihre eigene Energieversorgung, die auch während der Liegezeit durch ständig laufende Dieselaggregate aufrechterhalten wird. Eine Folge davon: allein im Hafen entstehen rund 1/3 aller in der Stadt Hamburg gemessenen Stickoxide.

Ein Schiff mit einem Energiebedarf von rund 1,5 MW/h kann man jedoch nicht einfach an das öffentliche Stromnetz anschließen. Dafür sind nicht nur Investitionen in 2-stelliger Millionenhöhe erforderlich. Die dabei anfallenden Steuern und Umlagen führen auch zu einem Strompreis, der um ein Vielfaches höher liegt als die vom Schiff selbst erzeugte Energie.

Ideal wäre daher eine externe Energieversorgung, die dafür sorgt, dass Containerschiffe zumindest im Hafen ihre Dieselaggregate abschalten können. Diese Lösung müsste nicht nur deutlich umweltfreundlicher sein als die Verbrennung schmutzigen Schiffsdiesels. Sie müsste auch wirtschaftlich darstellbar sein und die erforderliche Versorgungssicherheit bieten.

Lösung: Ganzheitlicher Ansatz zur Senkung von Emissionen

dass China im Rahmen seiner Green Agenda ebenfalls die Absicht hat, die Eigenstromversorgung von Containerschiffen während der Liegezeit zu beenden.

Das LNG PowerPac passt zu zum bereits etablierten Schnittstellen-Standard. Außerdem erfordert diese Lösung keinerlei zusätzliche Infrastruktur, denn die Einheiten lassen sich wie gewöhnliche Container handhaben und mit dem ohnehin vorhandenen Equipment bewegen und im Schiff aufstellen. Bei höherem Energiebedarf können auch zwei Einheiten parallel eingesetzt werden. Bei längerer Liegezeit lässt sich problemlos ein zweiter Tank ergänzen.

Ein kritischer Punkt ist die Wirtschaftlichkeit. Bei der Energieerzeugung über bordeigene Dieselaggregate entstehen Kosten von maximal 3 Cent pro kW/h. Die Kosten für die Energieversorgung mit dem LNG PowerPack sind jedoch deutlich höher. Die Hamburg Port Authority (HPA) hat sich daher zu einer ganzheitlichen Lösung entschlossen und unterstützt dieses Pilotprojekt aktiv: Containerschiffe, die ihre Energieversorgung im Hafen auf LNG umstellen, erhalten derzeit einen Nachlass auf die Hafengebühren, mit der die damit verbundenen höheren Kosten ausgeglichen werden.

Das Projekt LNG PowerPac gilt als ein zukunftsträchtiges Pilotprojekt für mehr Umweltschutz im Hafen. Das hat auch das Bundesverkehrsministerium erkannt und unterstützt daher dieses Hamburger Projekt mit einer Einzelförderung von 4 Millionen Euro.

Potenzial: Schlüsseltechnologie für weniger Emissionen im Hafen

Erste Feldversuche mit dem LNG PowerPac finden seit 2018 in Kooperation mit Hapag Lloyd statt. Die im Transatlantikdienst eingesetzten Containerschiffe der Reederei haben bereits die erforderliche Infrastruktur an Bord und bieten damit optimale Voraussetzungen, um die umweltgerechte Energieversorgung im Hafen zu testen.

Neben der HPA sind sich auch andere Häfen der Problemlage bewusst und arbeiten daran, die Emissionen von Containerschiffen während der Liegezeit zu reduzieren. Die USA sind hier der Vorreiter und haben bereits 2012 komplett auf Landstrom-Versorgung umgestellt. Im Rahmen seiner Green Agenda zielt auch China in dieselbe Richtung. Genauso wie die europäischen Häfen akuten Handlungsbedarf sehen.

Das LNG PowerPac ist hier eine optimale Lösung. Es nutzt nicht nur in der Schifffahrt bereits etablierte Schnittstellen. Es lässt sich auch in jedem Hafen der Welt einsetzen, ohne dass dafür erst weitere technische Voraussetzungen geschaffen werden müssen. HPE Hybrid Port Energy gilt mit dieser maritimen Lösung als führender Innovator im Bereich der umweltgerechten Hafen-Stromversorgung. Das Unternehmen sieht darin einen weltweit entwicklungsfähigen Markt und steht im engen Kontakt mit Hafenbetreibern von Europa bis nach China.

Stand: September 2019

LNG PowerPac
in Numbers

20%
weniger CO2-Emissionen
80%
weniger Nox Emissionen
0
Schwefel-Emissionen
0
Feinstaub-Emissionen

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories