A cruise ship needs as much electric energy as a small town with 20,000 inhabitants. This energy is produced by on-board diesel generators which produce significant emissions even in the port. But there is a solution that meets worldwide interest.

The challenge: Less emissions under economic conditions

Even while in the port, a cruise ship generates its own energy and thus pollutes the environment. In Hamburg alone, more than one third of all measured nitrogen oxides are produced in the port, and the 160 cruise ships per year account for a significant proportion of this.

But a ship with an energy requirement of at least 5 MW/h can not simply be connected to the public electricity grid. That would require investments in the tens of millions at least – to provide the required amount of energy, to convert the grid frequency and to build up the security technology.

Ideal would be an energy supply, which ensures that cruise ships can switch off their diesel generators at least while in the port. Such a supply would not only have to be much more environmentally friendly than burning dirty marine diesel. It would also have to be able to guarantee the required supply while being economically competitive.

The solution: Liquid natural gas instead of marine diesel

HPE Hybrid Port Energy is a subsidiary of Becker Marine Systems and was founded to provide solutions for green energy generation in the port. The first product of the company is the LNG Hybrid Barge. It was christened in 2014. Since 2015 it supplies the cruise ship AIDAsol with clean energy during its stay in the port of Hamburg. The barge measures 76×11 m and is equipped with five Caterpillar gas generators. They deliver a total output of 7.5 MW/h and are therefore able to cope with the energy requirements of even larger cruise ships.

The energy source is liquid natural gas (LNG), which is stored in two 15-ton container tanks on the barge. Compared to the relatively noisy diesel engines of a cruise ship, the barge works almost silently. The CO2 emissions are 20% below the aggregates on board a cruise ship. For NOx it is 80% while there are absolutely no emissions of sulfur and soot when burning LNG.

Another advantage of the LNG Hybrid Barge is its mobility. In the summer, her berth is at the cruise terminal (CC1) in Hamburg’s Hafencity, where the AIDAsol is mooring during its Hamburg stays. In winter, it serves as a mobile combined heat and power plant and supplies one of Hamburg’s container ports with heat and electrical energy.

A critical point is the economic aspect. Energy production via on-board diesel generators costs a maximum of 3 cents per kW/h. Electricity from the public grid would not only require significant investment to be refinanced. There are also network charges and the entire burden of taxes and levies. This simply prevents any economic operation.

As the LNG Hybrid Barge is not considered an energy supplier, all these charges are eliminated. The barge does not sell electricity per kW/h, but is simply chartered for the cruise ship’s laytime. The total cost is slightly higher than on-board electricity. However, especially in the cruise sector there is a willingness to accept slightly higher costs in the interests of image and the environment.

The potential: A Hamburg innovation meets with worldwide interest

Providing external power supply of cruise liners during laytime is on the agenda of many ports worldwide. Along the American west coast, every cruise ship is already obliged to use shore power while in the port. In Europe, a similar trend is emerging.

However, not every port is capable of providing enough electrical energy at a reasonable cost. The LNG Hybrid Barge provides a relatively short-term solution. It works independently of existing network structures and ensures a secure energy supply at very low emissions.

HPE Hybrid Port Energy is currently talking to several other ports far beyond Europe. Barcelona is the largest European cruise port and seems to show interest in the solution. In Barcelona as well, the emissions of the numerous cruise ships are considered a serious problem.

On a technical level, the company is already working on the next generation of the LNG Hybrid Barge. The keyword here is TWOship Barge. It describes a similar solution with an electric power of 24 MW, able to supply two cruise ships at the same time with electrical energy.

LNG Hybrid Barge
in Numbers

20%
less CO2 emissions
80%
less NOx emissions
0
sulfur emissions
0
particle emissions

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Ein Kreuzfahrtschiff hat den Energiebedarf einer Kleinstadt mit 20.000 Einwohnern, der von eigenen Dieselaggregaten erzeugt wird. Auch während der Liegezeit im Hafen ist das mit erheblichen Emissionen verbunden. Doch es gibt eine Lösung aus Hamburg, die die Welt aufhorchen lässt.

Herausforderung: Weniger Emissionen unter wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen

Ein Kreuzfahrtschiff erzeugt auch im Hafen seine Energie selbst und belastet damit die Umwelt. Allein in Hamburg entstehen gut ein Drittel aller gemessenen Stickoxide im Hafen und die 160 Kreuzfahrtschiffe pro Jahr haben daran einen erheblichen Anteil.

Doch ein Schiff mit einem Energiebedarf von mindestens 5 MW/h kann man nicht einfach an das öffentliche Stromnetz anschließen. Das würde Investitionen in mindestens zweistelliger Millionenhöhe erfordern – zur Bereitstellung der benötigten Energiemenge, zur Umwandlung der Netzfrequenz und zum Aufbau der Sicherheitstechnik.

Ideal wäre eine Energieversorgung, die dafür sorgt, dass Kreuzfahrtschiffe zumindest im Hafen ihre Dieselaggregate abschalten können. Sie müsste nicht nur deutlich umweltfreundlicher sein als die Verbrennung schmutzigen Schiffsdiesels. Sie müsste auch die erforderliche Versorgungssicherheit bieten und wirtschaftlich Sinn machen.

Lösung: Flüssiges Erdgas statt Schiffsdiesel

HPE Hybrid Port Energy ist ein Tochterunternehmen von Becker Marine Systems und wurde gegründet, um Lösungen für eine umweltfreundlichere Energieerzeugung im Hafenbereich zu bieten. Das erste Produkt des Unternehmens ist die LNG Hybrid Barge. Der antriebslose Schiffskörper wurde 2014 getauft und versorgt seit 2015 die AIDAsol während ihrer Liegezeiten im Hamburger Hafen mit saubererer Energie. Die Barge misst 76×11 m und ist mit fünf Caterpillar Gasaggregaten ausgestattet. Sie liefern eine Gesamtleistung von 7,5 MW/h und sind damit auch dem Energiebedarf größerer Kreuzfahrtschiffe gewachsen.

Energieträger ist flüssiges Erdgas (LNG), das in zwei 15 Tonnen fassenden Container-Tanks auf der Barge gelagert wird. Im Vergleich zu den relativ geräuschintensiven Dieselaggregaten eines Kreuzfahrtschiffes arbeitet die Barge nahezu geräuschlos. Die CO2-Emissionen liegen 20 % unter den Aggregaten an Bord eines Kreuzfahrtschiffes. Beim NOx sind es 80 %. Emissionen in Form von Schwefel und Ruß entfallen bei der Verbrennung von LNG sogar vollständig.

Ein weiterer Vorteil der LNG Hybrid Barge ist ihre Mobilität. Im Sommer ist ihr Liegeplatz beim Kreuzfahrtterminal (CC1) in der Hamburger Hafencity, wo die AIDAsol anlegt. Im Winter dient sie als mobiles Blockheizkraftwerk und versorgt einen der Hamburger Containerhäfen mit Wärme und elektrischer Energie.

Ein kritischer Punkt ist die Wirtschaftlichkeit. Bei der Energieerzeugung über bordeigene Dieselaggregate entstehen Kosten von maximal 3 Cent pro kW/h. Bei Strom aus dem öffentlichen Netz müssten nicht nur erhebliche Investitionen refinanziert werden. Es fallen auch Netzentgelte und die gesamte Last an Steuern und Umlagen an. Damit ist ein wirtschaftlicher Betrieb nicht darstellbar.

Da die LNG Hybrid Barge nicht als Energieversorger gilt, entfallen all diese Belastungen. Die Barge verkauft keinen Strom per kW/h, sondern wird einfach für die Liegezeit des Kreuzfahrtschiffes gechartert. Die Gesamtkosten liegen etwas höher als bei bordeigenem Strom. Speziell im Kreuzfahrtbereich besteht jedoch Bereitschaft im Interesse von Image und Umwelt etwas höhere Kosten zu akzeptieren.

Potenzial: Eine Hamburger Innovation stößt auf weltweites Interesse

Die externe Energieversorgung von Kreuzfahrtschiffen während der Liegezeit steht auf der Agenda zahlreicher Häfen weltweit. Entlang der amerikanischen Westküste ist schon heute jedes Kreuzfahrtschiff dazu verpflichtet, während der Liegezeit im Hafen Landstrom zu nutzen. In Europa zeichnet sich ein ähnlicher Trend ab.

Doch nicht jeder Hafen ist in der Lage, elektrische Energie in ausreichender Menge und zu darstellbaren Kosten bereitzustellen. Die LNG Hybrid Barge ist hier eine relativ kurzfristig realisierbare Lösung. Sie ist unabhängig von vorhandenen Netzstrukturen und gewährleistet eine sichere Energieversorgung mit sehr niedrigen Emissionen.

HPE Hybrid Port Energy steht derzeit im Gespräch mit mehreren anderen Häfen weit über Europa hinaus. Konkretes Interesse scheint Barcelona zu zeigen – der größte europäische Kreuzfahrt-Hafen überhaupt. Auch hier werden die Emissionen der zahlreichen Kreuzfahrtschiffe als ernsthaftes Problem angesehen.

Auf technischer Ebene arbeitet das Unternehmen bereits an der nächsten Generation der LNG Hybrid Barge. Das Stichwort dazu lautet TWOship Barge. Es beschreibt eine vergleichbare Lösung mit einer elektrischen Leistung von 24 MW, mit der sich zwei Kreuzfahrtschiffe parallel mit elektrischer Energie versorgen lassen.

LNG Hybrid Barge
in Numbers

20 %
weniger CO2-Emissionen
80 %
weniger Nox Emissionen
0
Schwefel-Emissionen
0
Feinstaub-Emissionen

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories