Normally, plastics arebased on petroleum. A research group at the Technical University of Hamburg has developed an interesting alternative. The starting material is biomass, such as waste wood or straw. The result is lignin, a biopolymer that matches multiple applications.

The challenge: New applications for renewable bio-polymers

Plastics from biomass have two decisive advantages: They use renewable raw materials and do not become a recycling problem after use.

An excellent base material is lignin, the second most abundant plant compound on earth. This biopolymer accumulates in the plant cell wall, thereby causing its lignification. For straw and wood, for example, its share is 20-30%.

A lignin-based plastic would not only be based on a raw material that’s available everywhere in abundance. It would also be an environmentally friendly plastic that is completely non-toxic and biodegradable.

The solution: High quality bio-plastic without recycling problems

An international research team at the Institute of Thermal Process Engineering at the Technical University of Hamburg has been working on the subject of lignin and is well on the way to opening up completely new application areas for biopolymers. M.Sc. Wienke Reynolds, M.Sc. Joana Gil Chavez, B.Sc. Daniela Arango and Stefan Boersting are graduates in process engineering and want to open up new markets with their technology for the production of a non-toxic and near-natural lignin fraction.

The starting material is lignocellulose, which is contained in large quantities in residues of agriculture and forestry. The lignin is released using a patented high-pressure cascade that requires only CO2, water and enzymes. The process can be adjusted in a targeted manner to the particular particle properties required and can be optimally adapted to a wide variety of regionally available raw materials.

Due to the absolutely atoxic nature of the lignin of the TU Hamburg, for example, a use in pharmacy and cosmetics is conceivable. The material acts as an antioxidant and provides inherent flame resistence, which also opens up completely new possibilities for building insulation. In addition, polymer compounds can be produced for 3D printing and for plastic injection molding.

The pilot plant operated by the researchers can produce up to 100 kg of hydrolytically produced lignin per month. One of the first end products is a bio-adhesive tape developed in cooperation with tesa in Hamburg.

In general, the research team finds ideal conditions for its development work within the metropolitan region of Hamburg. This makes it possible to draw on the close networking between research and industry. Participating partners include companies like Dr. Ing. Straetmans, Verbio, tesa SE, Draeger and Amandus Kahl as well as Hamburg support institutions, such as TUTECH and the Startup Dock.

Potential: Innovative lignin products with environmental benefits

LignoPure is the name of the spin-off initiative at the Technical University of Hamburg. The registration of LignoPur GmbH took place in the fall of 2019. Initial income will initially be realized above all through product development services in the area of material applications as a beachhead market. By the end of 2020, at least 3 marketable products should be available in this area. In the medium term (2022), life science products will also be launched on the market.

LignoPure has two main sources of revenue: selling customized lignin particles and targeted product development for the customer. Depending on the desired application, LignoPure Lignin can be offered in different finishes: for example spray-dried (for example for composites) and supercritically dried (for applications in areas such as cosmetics and food.

LignoPure is pursuing three rounds of financing for these goals, initially through a smaller funding program of around € 150k in 2019/2020, and two rounds of investment in 2020 (€ 600k) and 2022 (€ 2m).

LignoPure
in Numbers

1
researchers at the TU Hamburg
3
pilot plant for the extraction of lignin
100%
annual market growth for biopolymers

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Normalerweise gehen Kunststoffe auf Erdöl zurück. Eine Forschergruppe an der Technischen Universität Hamburg hat dazu eine interessante Alternative entwickelt. Das Ausgangsmaterial ist Biomasse, wie Restholz oder Stroh. Das Ergebnis ist Lignin, ein Bio-Polymer, das sich für zahlreiche Anwendungen eignet.

Herausforderung: Neue Anwendungen für nachwachsende Bio-Polymere

Kunststoffe aus Biomasse haben zwei entscheidende Vorteile: Sie greifen auf nachwachsende Rohstoffe zurück und werden nach der Nutzung nicht zum Recycling-Problem.

Ein hervorragendes Basismaterial ist dabei Lignin, die zweithäufigste pflanzliche Verbindung auf der Erde. Dieses Biopolymer lagert sich in die pflanzliche Zellwand ein und bewirkt dabei ihre Verholzung. Bei Stroh und Holz liegt sein Anteil zum Beispiel bei 20 – 30 %.

Ein Kunststoff auf der Basis von Lignin würde nicht nur auf einen Rohstoff zurückgreifen, der überall in großer Menge zur Verfügung steht. Er wäre auch ein umweltverträglicher Kunststoff, der völlig ungiftig und noch dazu biologisch abbaubar ist.

Lösung: Hochwertiger Bio-Kunststoff ohne Recycling-Probleme

Ein internationales Forscherteam am Institut für Thermische Verfahrenstechnik an der Technischen Universität Hamburg hat sich mit dem Thema Lignin beschäftigt und ist auf dem besten Weg, völlig neue Anwendungsbereiche für Biopolymere zu erschließen. M.Sc. Wienke Reynolds, M.Sc. Joana Gil Chavez, B.Sc. Daniela Arango und Stefan Boersting sind Absolventen der Verfahrenstechnik und wollen mit ihrer Technologie zur Produktion einer nicht-toxischern und naturnahen Ligninfraktion neue Märkte erschließen.

Ausgangsstoff ist Lignocellulose, die in großen Mengen in Reststoffen der Agrar- und Forstwirtschaft enthalten ist. Das Lignin wird mithilfe einer patentierten Hochdruck-Kaskade und lediglich dem Einsatz von CO2, Wasser und Enzymen gelöst. Das Verfahren lässt sich gezielt auf die jeweils erforderlichen Partikeleigenschaften einstellen und optimal auf die unterschiedlichsten regional vorhandenen Rohstoffe abstimmen.

Durch die absolut atoxische Eigenschaft des Lignins der TU Hamburg ist zum Beispiel auch ein Einsatz in der Pharmazie und Kosmetik denkbar. Das Material wirkt als Antioxidant und bietet einen inhärenten Flammschutz, was auch völlig neue Möglichkeiten bei der Gebäudedämmung eröffnet. Außerdem lassen sich Polymer-Compounds für den 3D-Druck und für den Kunststoff-Spritzguss herstellen.

Die von den Forscherinnen betriebene Pilotanlage kann bis zu 100 kg hydrolytisch gewonnenes Lignin im Monat produzieren. Eines der ersten Endprodukte ist ein Bio-Klebeband, das in Zusammenarbeit mit tesa in Hamburg entwickelt wurde.

Überhaupt findet das Forscherteam in der Metropolregion Hamburg optimale Voraussetzungen für seine Entwicklungsarbeit. So kann auf die enge Vernetzung zwischen Forschung und Industrie zurückgegriffen werden. Dazu zählen neben Unternehmen wie Dr. Straetmans, Verbio, tesa SE, Draeger und Amandus Kahl auch Hamburger Fördereinrichtungen, wie TUTECH und das Startup Dock.

Potenzial: Innovative Lignin-Produkte mit Umwelt-Plus

LignoPure ist der Name der Ausgründungsinitiative an der Technischen Universität Hamburg. Die Eintragung der LignoPur GmbH erfolgte im Herbst 2019. Erste Einkünfte werden zunächst vor allem über Produktentwicklungsservices im Bereich Materialanwendungen als Beachhead Market realisiert. Bis Ende 2020 sollen zumindest 3 marktreife Produkte in diesem Bereich verfügbar sein. Mittelfristig (2022) sollen auch Life Science Produkte auf den Markt gebracht werden.

LignoPure verfügt über zwei Haupteinnahmequellen: Verkauf von maßgeschneiderten Lignin-Partikeln und gezielte Produktentwicklung für den Kunden. Abhängig von der gewünschten Anwendung kann LignoPure Lignin in verschiedenen Finishes angeboten werden: zum Beispiel sprühgetrocknet (z.B. für Komposite) und überkritisch getrocknet (für Anwendungen in Bereichen wie Kosmetik und Food.

Für diese Ziele strebt LignoPure drei Finanzierungsrunden, zunächst über ein kleineres Förderprogramm von ca. 150 k € in 2019/2020, sowie zwei Investitionsrunden in 2020 (600 k €) und 2022 (2 Mio. €) an.

Stand: September 2019

LignoPure
in Numbers

3
Forscherínnen an der TU Hamburg
1
Pilotanlage zur Extraktion von Lignin
100%
jährliches Marktwachstum bei Biopolymeren

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories