Material fatigue is a big topic in aircraft construction. The aluminum parts of an aircraft are exposed to constantly changing loads and will show fatigue in the long term. Laser shock peening is a technology for surface treatment of metals, which is now being researched for the first time for aircraft construction.

The challenge: Targeted surface treatment without environmental impact

Traditionally, aluminum aircraft parts are exposed to shot peening to provide greater strength and fatigue resistance. But shot peening is not particularly eco-friendly and also does not allow for truly precise application.

Laser Shock Peening is a well-known technology that enables precise surface treatment and requires only light and water. It was previously only used in the US military sector, but also offers decisive advantages in the field of civil aviation.

The solution: A flexible technology that saves weight and costs

The principle is actually quite simple: If a metal is bombarded with a pulsed laser beam through a thin layer of water, a high-pressure plasma is created on the surface with each pulse, which expands explosively. The inertia of the water prevents an expansion of the energy to the rear, so that it is fully concentrated on the metal. The result is an irreversible deformation of the metal and a targeted local hardening of its surface structure.

Laser Shock Peening is ideal for improving the fatigue properties of the metal. The formation of cracks induced by the natural fatigue is thus effectively counteracted. Also, certain structural components can be more filigree and thus easier to design without affecting their strength.

Laser Shock Peening also offers new possibilities for the large-scale deformation of sheet metal. The advantage here is that the technology is extremely flexible and can be used for a wide variety of dimensions and geometries. This could replace today’s heavy presses that need to be re-set for each sheet metal part.

Especially in the aviation industry, Laser Shock Peening offers decisive advantages. The technology can not only be optimally integrated into increasingly digitized work processes. It also offers maximum flexibility and fits perfectly with the rather small quantities that are involved in aircraft construction.

The potential: new applications for a sustainable process

In the TechCenter of the Hamburg Center for Applied Aerospace Research (ZAL), the first laser shock peening system in Europe was put into operation in October 2018.

This technical infrastructure will serve to develop different applications of this technology for the aviation industry. At the heart of the development work are solutions for fatigue improvement of highly stressed aircraft components. Further research focuses on novel applications for the deformation of sheet metal parts, which are considerably more flexible and economical than previous methods.

The ZAL is a company of the city of Hamburg together with Airbus, Lufthansa Technik, the ZAL Förderverein, the German Aerospace Center, as well as colleges and universities of the city of Hamburg.

Laser Shock Peening
in Numbers

43 Millionen
flight movements per year
3,8 billionen
passengers per year
21,000
aircrafts registered in Germany
25 years
lifetime of an airplane

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Materialermüdung ist ein großes Thema im Flugzeugbau. Die Aluminiumteile eines Flugzeugs sind ständig wechselnden Belastungen ausgesetzt und zeigen auf Dauer Ermüdungserscheinungen. Laser Shock Peening ist eine Technologie zur Oberflächenbehandlung von Metallen, die jetzt erstmals für den Flugzeugbau erforscht wird.

Herausforderung: Gezielte Oberflächenbearbeitung ohne Umweltbelastung

Traditionell werden Flugzeugteile aus Aluminium mit dem Kugelstrahl-Verfahren behandelt, um eine höhere Festigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit gegen Materialermüdung zu erzielen. Doch Kugelstrahlen ist nicht besonders umweltfreundlich und erlaubt außerdem keine wirklich präzise Anwendung.

Laser Shock Peening ist eine seit langem bekannte Technologie, die eine punktgenaue Oberflächenbearbeitung ermöglicht und dafür nur Licht und Wasser benötigt. Sie wurde bisher nur im amerikanischen Militärbereich angewandt, bietet aber auch im Bereich der zivilen Luftfahrt entscheidende Vorteile.

Lösung: Eine flexible Technologie, die Gewicht und Kosten spart

Das Prinzip ist eigentlich ganz einfach: Beschießt man ein Metall durch eine dünne Wasserschicht hindurch mit einem gepulsten Laserstrahl, entsteht an der Oberfläche mit jedem Impuls ein Hochdruckplasma, das sich explosionsartig ausdehnt. Die Trägheit des Wassers verhindert dabei eine Ausdehnung der Energie nach hinten, sodass sie voll auf das Metall konzentriert wird. Das Ergebnis ist eine irreversible Verformung des Metalls und eine gezielt lokale Verhärtung seiner Oberflächenstruktur.

Laser Shock Peening lässt sich optimal zur Verbesserung der Fatigue-Eigenschaften des Metalls einsetzen. Einer durch die natürliche Materialermüdung ausgelöste Rissbildung wird damit wirksam entgegengewirkt. Auch lassen sich bestimmte konstruktive Bauteile filigraner und damit leichter auslegen, ohne ihre Festigkeit zu beeinflussen.

Laser Shock Peening bietet auch neue Möglichkeiten zur großflächigen Verformung von Blechen. Der Vorteil dabei ist, dass sich die Technologie äußerst flexibel ist und sich für die unterschiedlichsten Dimensionen und Geometrien einsetzen lässt. Damit ließen sich die heutigen tonnenschweren Pressen ersetzen, die für jedes Blechteil neu eingerichtet werden müssen.

Speziell im Bereich der Luftfahrt bietet Laser Shock Peening entscheidende Vorteile. Die Technologie lässt sich nicht nur optimal in die zunehmend digitalisierten Arbeitsprozesse integrieren. Sie bietet auch maximale Flexibilität und passt damit bestens zu den eher kleinen Stückzahlen, mit denen man es im Flugzeugbau zu tun hat.

Potenzial: Neue Anwendungen für ein zukunftsfähiges Verfahren

Im TechCenter des Hamburger Zentrums für angewandte Luftfahrtforschung (ZAL) wurde im Oktober 2018 die europaweit erste Laser Shock Peening Anlage in Betrieb genommen.

Diese technische Infrastruktur soll dazu dienen, unterschiedliche Anwendungen dieser Technologie für die Luftfahrt-Industrie zu entwickeln. Im Mittelpunkt der Entwicklungsarbeit stehen dabei Lösungen zur gezielten Fatigue-Verbesserung hoch beanspruchter Flugzeug-Bauteile. Außerdem geht es um die Erforschung neuartiger Anwendungen zur Verformung von Blechteilen, die erheblich flexibler und wirtschaftlicher sind als bisherige Verfahren.

Das ZAL ist ein Unternehmen der Stadt Hamburg zusammen mit Airbus, Lufthansa Technik, dem ZAL Förderverein, dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, sowie Hochschulen und Universitäten der Stadt Hamburg.

Laser Shock Peening
in Numbers

43 Millionen
Flugbewegungen im Jahr
3,8 Milliarden
Passagiere im Jahr
21.000
Flugzeuge in Deutschland zugelassen
25 Jahre
Lebensdauer eines Flugzeugs

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories