Whether it's an appointment, a consultation or a prescription, communicating with the doctor means talking on the phone, waiting, losing time. In the age of WhatsApp this should actually be easier and faster.

Challenge: Faster communication, accelerated processes

Communication with the doctor’s office still means communicating by phone. Documents are sent by letter. Even repeated recipes for long-term treatment require a visit to the practice each time. This is not only time-consuming and cumbersome, but definitely out of date.

In addition, many a doctor’s visits actually are not necessary. Remote treatment is already permitted today. A cold, a flu or some other everyday complaint could therefore easily be diagnosed on the phone. From 2020 e-prescriptions will be accepted, which no longer require paperwork and simplify the communication between patient, doctor and pharmacy.

All this speaks in favor of digital communication between patient and doctor via a messenger system. It also calls for the digital management and exchange of documents via a secure and protected platform.

Solution: A messenger for health communication

Kanon Systems GmbH was founded in 2018 by Ali Babakhani and is the result of numerous discussions with doctors as well as personal experience as a patient. This resulted in a project in the environment of the Hamburg Health Innovation Port. HIP is a platform for startups in the healthcare sector working with established players from the healthcare industry to find solutions for the future of the healthcare system. The project was realized completely without external funding.

The goal of Kanon Systems is digital networking between physicians and patients. The focus is on the Messenger Kanon Health and the associated system environment, which has been developed since 2015 and is now available in the 12th version.

The look and feel of the app is based on the familiar handling of known messengers such as WhatsApp. It is designed to transfer the communication between doctors, practices and patients to the practices typical of the digital age. The solution is backed by a cloud solution that offers not only a chat function but also document management for diagnosis, lab reports and other medical documents. All data are encrypted according to the military standard AES256 while data traffic is encrypted according to a TLS 1.3 certificate.

Using the chat function, patients can chat with the doctor’s practice and, for example, make appointments or contact their doctor from any location. Documents are stored directly in the app, so users always have their medical history with them.

For the doctor, Kanon Health means a significant simplification and acceleration of the processes in the office. Time-consuming phone calls will take place via the app. Questions can be clarified quickly and appointments can be assigned directly on screen. In addition, documents can be exchanged digitally between doctor and patient and among physicians, without first having to be copied and sent by mail. Kanon Systems assumes that the time savings will be around 25 hours per month. Additionally, there are savings of material and postage costs.

Potential: Patient retention and new services

After a practical test with a Hamburg doctor’s office, Kanon Health has been in beta phase since the beginning of 2019 with initially 5 Hamburg doctors. This practical test is to be successively extended to 20 physicians with whom Kanon Systems is already in contact.

After successful completion of the beta phase Kanon Systems wants to start in 2019 the active distribution of the solution. First, key multipliers in the health sector will be addressed. Doctors who are enabled for the system will then automatically appear in the app, which patients can already download since the beginning of 2019.

Additional services that are not billed through the insurance are an important aspect of the efficiency of a doctor’s office. Kanon Health also offers cash-desk patients the opportunity to consult their doctor as a self-payer. This opens up new sales potential for the doctor and can save patients time-consuming doctor visits, as many health-related questions can be clarified directly via the app.

In addition to direct physician / patient contact, Kanon Health also supports dialogue and document exchange between physicians, hospitals and medical care centers.

As of September 2019

Kanon Health
in Numbers

3
years of development
25
hours per month time savings in the doctor's office
3
functions in one app (chat, documents, consultation)

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Ob es um einen Termin, eine Rückfrage oder ein Rezept geht, die Kommunikation mit dem Arzt heißt telefonieren, warten, Zeit verlieren. Das müsste heute eigentlich einfacher und schneller gehen.

Herausforderung: Schnellere Kommunikation, beschleunigte Prozesse

Die Kommunikation mit der Arztpraxis läuft immer noch per Telefon. Dokumente werden per Brief verschickt. Selbst wiederholte Rezepte bei der Langzeitbehandlung erfordern jedes Mal einen Besuch in der Praxis. Das ist nicht nur Zeit raubend und umständlich, sondern schon lange nicht mehr zeitgemäß.

Dazu kommt, dass so mancher Arztbesuch möglicherweise nicht notwendig wäre, da Fernbehandlung auch heute schon zulässig ist. Eine Erkältung, eine Grippe oder so manche andere alltägliche Beschwerde ließ sich daher problemlos auch am Telefon diagnostizieren. Ab 2020 gibt es außerdem das E-Rezept, das keiner Papierform mehr bedarf und die Kommunikation zwischen Patienten, Arzt und Apotheke zusätzlich vereinfacht.

Das alles spricht für die digitale Kommunikation zwischen Patienten und Arzt über ein Messenger-System. Und für das digitale Management und den Austausch von Dokumenten über eine geschützte und sichere Plattform.

Lösung: Ein Messenger rund um die Gesundheit

Die Kanon Systems GmbH wurde 2018 von Ali Babakhani gegründet und ist das Ergebnis zahlreicher Gespräche mit Ärzten und eigener Erfahrungen als Patient. Daraus entstand ein Projekt im Umfeld des Hamburger Health Innovation Port. HIP ist eine Plattform für Startups aus dem Gesundheitsbereich, die hier mit etablierten Akteuren aus der Gesundheitswirtschaft an Lösungen für die Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens arbeiten. Das Projekt wurde völlig ohne externe Fördermittel realisiert.

Zielsetzung von Kanon Systems ist die digitale Vernetzung zwischen Ärzten und Patienten. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei der Messenger Kanon Health und die dazu gehörende Systemumgebung, die seit 2015 entwickelt wird und mittlerweile in der 12. Version zur Verfügung steht.

Das Look & Feel der App greift die vertraute Handhabung bekannter Messenger wie WhatsApp auf und soll die Kommunikation zwischen Ärzten, Praxen und Patienten auf die Gepflogenheiten des Digitalzeitalters übertragen. Dahinter steht eine Cloud-Lösung, die neben einer Chatfunktion auch ein Dokumenten-Management für Befunde, Laborberichte und andere ärztliche Dokumente bietet. Die Daten werden nach dem Militärstandard AES256 verschlüsselt und der Datenverkehr erfolgt verschlüsselt nach einem TLS 1.3 Zertifikat.

Über die Chatfunktion können Patienten mit der Arztpaxis chatten und zum Beispiel Termine vereinbaren oder von jedem Standort aus den Kontakt zu ihrem Arzt herstellen. Dokumente werden direkt in der App gespeichert, sodass die Nutzer ihre medizinische Historie immer dabeihaben.

Für den Arzt bedeutet Kanon Health eine deutliche Vereinfachung und Beschleunigung der Prozesse in der Praxis. Zeit raubende Telefonate verlagern sich auf die App. Fragen können schnell geklärt und Termine direkt am Bildschirm vergeben werden. Außerdem lassen sich Dokumente zwischen Arzt und Patienten und unter Ärzten schnell digital austauschen, ohne erst kopiert und per Brief verschickt werden zu müssen. Kanon Systems beziffert die damit mögliche Zeiteinsparung auf rund 25 Stunden in Monat. Dazu kommt die Einsparung von Material- und Portokosten.

Potenzial: Patientenbindung und neue Dienstleistungen

Nach praxisgerechten Test mit einer Hamburger Arztpraxis befindet sich Kanon Health seit Anfang 2019 in der Betaphase mit zunächst 5 Hamburger Ärzten. Dieser Praxistest soll sukzessiv auf 20 Ärzte ausgeweitet werden, mit denen Kanon Systems bereits in Verbindung steht.

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Betaphase will Kanon Systems noch 2019 den aktiven Vertrieb der Lösung starten. Dafür werden zunächst entscheidende Multiplikatoren im Health-Bereich angesprochen. Ärzte, die für das System freigeschaltet sind, erscheinen dann automatisch in der App, die sich Patienten seit Anfang 2019 herunterladen können.

Zusatzleistungen, die nicht über die Versicherung abgerechnet werden, sind ein wichtiger Aspekt für die Wirtschaftlichkeit einer Praxis. Kanon Health bietet auch Kassenpatienten die Möglichkeit, ihren Arzt als Selbstzahler zu konsultieren. Das eröffnet dem Arzt neue Umsatzpotenziale und erspart dem Patienten in bestimmten Fälle zeitraubende Arztbesuche, da gesundheitliche Fragen direkt über die App geklärt werden können.

Neben dem direkten Arzt/Patienten-Kontakt unterstützt Kanon Health auch den Dialog und Dokumentenaustausch zwischen Ärzten, Krankenhäusern und medizinischen Versorgungszentren.

Stand: September 2019

Kanon Health
in Numbers

3
Jahre Entwicklungszeit
25
Stunden/Monat Zeitersparnis in der Arztpraxis
3
Funktionen in einer App (Chat, Dokumente, Konsultation)

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories