The largest X-ray laser in the world, the European XFEL, produced the first ultra-short light flashes on 4 May 2017. This was the last major milestone before its official start-up operations in September. It marks the beginning of a new era of research in Europe – since the machine’s efficiency opens up completely new possibilities.

Challenge: Answers to global questions

Nanotechnology is one of the key technologies of the 21st century. But the “smallest detail” has not yet been fully explored. In the nanoscale, substances develop new properties, which in turn allow for new applications. But which ones? Fossil fuels are finite, and renewable energy is not yet sufficient to meet global energy needs. Can artificial photosynthesis play a part in energy production on Earth in the future? Can drugs be developed that cure diseases such as AIDS, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s without serious side effects?

Solution: High-tech and worldwide cooperation

Researchers from around the world are trying to find answers to these and many other questions with the help of the European XFEL (X-Ray Free Electron Laser). The 3.4 kilometre long and approximately 1.5 billion euro machine, which mainly goes through underground tunnels from the site of the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg-Bahrenfeld to the experimental hall in Schenefeld, Schleswig-Holstein, in the future will generate an X-ray light with a wavelength of just 0.05 nanometres – about 10,000 times shorter than visible light.

Novel, three-dimensional insights into the nano-world have become possible and form the basis for the technical applications of the future. Even the three-dimensional structures of biomolecules, cell components and whole viruses can be deciphered with the X-ray flashes. Scientists can also examine very small sample sizes and carry out experiments more quickly. They also save valuable “beam time” among other things.

The research organisation European XFEL GmbH cooperates closely with the DESY research centre in Hamburg. Above all, the XFEL is an extraordinary example for successful global cooperation. Components for the X-ray laser were produced, assembled and tested by research facilities, institutes and universities and companies in the industry from all over the world. The largest and most efficient of five X-ray lasers in the world (so far) was created in the metropolitan region of Hamburg in cooperation with 17 research facilities from eleven countries – Denmark, Germany, France, Italy, Poland, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Spain and Hungary.

Potential: Hamburg – World Capital of X-ray Research

When the X-ray laser starts its official operations at the start of September, international research groups will carry out initial experiments there. The Schenefeld research campus already employs more than 300 workers from 36 countries. This is only the beginning. This makes Hamburg the world-capital of X-ray light research and an outstanding European location for research and innovation.

More about XFEL

 

 



European XFEL
in Numbers

1,22 B.
Euro
11
Countries involved
3,4km
Total length
27 000
X-ray flashes per Second
6-38m
Tunnel depth
7
Construction time
117,8 M.
Euro Annual Budget 2015

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Der größte Röntgenlaser der Welt, der European XFEL, hat am 4. Mai 2017 die ersten ultrakurzen Lichtblitze erzeugt. Damit wurde der letzte große Meilenstein vor der offiziellen Inbetriebnahme im September erreicht. Eine neue Ära der Forschung in Europa - denn die Leistungsfähigkeit der Anlage eröffnet völlig neue Möglichkeiten.

Herausforderung: Antworten auf globale Fragen

Die Nanotechnologie gilt als eine der Schlüsseltechnologien des 21. Jahrhunderts. Doch noch ist das „Allerkleinste“ nicht vollständig erforscht. Im Nanomaßstab entwickeln Stoffe neue Eigenschaften, was wiederum neue Anwendungen ermöglicht. Nur welche? Fossile Energien sind endlich und regenerative Energien noch nicht ausreichend, um den globalen Energiebedarf zu decken. Kann Künstliche Photosynthese zur zukünftigen Energieerzeugung auf der Erde beitragen? Lassen sich Medikamente entwickeln, die ohne gravierende Nebenwirkungen Krankheiten wie AIDS, Alzheimer und Parkinson heilen?

Lösung: Hightech und weltweite Zusammenarbeit

Auf diese und viele weitere Fragen versuchen Forscher aus aller Welt mit Hilfe des European XFEL (X-Ray Free-Electron Laser) Antworten zu finden. Die 3,4 Kilometer lange und rund 1,5 Milliarden Euro teure Anlage, die größtenteils in unterirdischen Tunneln vom Gelände des Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotrons (DESY) in Hamburg-Bahrenfeld bis zur Experimentierhalle im schleswig-holsteinischen Schenefeld führt, wird künftig Röntgenlicht mit einer Wellenlänge von nur 0,05 Nanometern erzeugen – etwa 10.000-mal kürzer als bei sichtbarem Licht.

Neuartige, dreidimensionale Einblicke in die Nanowelt werden möglich und bilden die Basis für technische Anwendungen der Zukunft. Auch die dreidimensionalen Strukturen von Biomolekülen, Zellbestandteilen und ganzen Viren lassen sich mit den Röntgenblitzen entschlüsseln. Wissenschaftler können auch sehr kleine Probemengen untersuchen und die Experimente schneller durchführen. So sparen sie unter anderem wertvolle „Strahlzeit“.

Die Forschungsorganisation European XFEL GmbH arbeitet eng mit dem Forschungszentrum DESY in Hamburg zusammen. Vor allem ist der XFEL ist ein herausragendes Beispiel für eine erfolgreiche weltumspannende Kooperation. Bauteile des Röntgenlasers wurden von Forschungseinrichtungen, Instituten und Universitäten und Industrieunternehmen aus aller Welt gefertigt, montiert und getestet. Durch Kooperation von 17 Forschungseinrichtungen aus elf Ländern – Dänemark, Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Polen, Russland, Schweden, Schweiz, Slowakei, Spanien und Ungarn – konnte in der Metropolregion Hamburg so der größte und leistungsfähigste von derzeit fünf Röntgenlasern weltweit entstehen.

Potenzial: Hamburg – Welt-Hauptstadt der Röntgenlichtforschung

Wenn der Röntgenlaser Anfang September offiziell eröffnet ist, werden internationale Forschergruppen dort erste Experimente durchzuführen. Bereits jetzt arbeiten auf dem Schenefelder Forschungscampus mehr als 300 Beschäftigte aus 36 Nationen. Das dürfte erst der Anfang sein. So wird Hamburg zur Welt-Hauptstadt der Röntgenlichtforschung und zu einem herausragenden europäischen Standort für Forschung und Innovation.

Mehr über XFEL

 

 



European XFEL
in Numbers

1,22 Mrd.
Euro
11
beteiligte Länder
3,4km
Gesamtlänge
27 000
Röntgenlaserblitze
6-38m
Tunneltiefe
7
Jahre Bauarbeiten
117,8 Mio.
Jahresbudget 2015

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories