The University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) is on its way to becoming a digital hospital with its electronic patient record. It was the first university hospital in Europe to implement an extensively available hospital information system (HIS). The goal is not merely to save paper, but to provide the data, needed to treat patients, exactly where it is needed.

Challenge: Increase in efficiency with the highest possible patient safety

Markumar or Mevinacor? One agent dilutes the blood and can lead to haemorrhage in the case of overdose, the other reduces cholesterol levels. A mix-up can be dangerous – but it is not impossible, if for example the prescription was handwritten by the doctor or issued under time constraints. However, not only was the creation of the technical prerequisites for a completely paperless work environment needed, but also the establishment and implementation of the system in everyday hospital life.

Solution: Knowledge – Research – Healing – through networked competence

There are no more handwritten orders in the UKE. The centrally stored data in the electronic patient records, protected by a strictly regulated and certified safety system, have since been accessible by the treating physicians and nurses at any time and from any location within the hospital. The patient’s name, medical history, as well as their drug prescription can be obtained from mobile terminals. The UKE’s pharmacy is also closely involved. 12,000 single doses are packaged there daily in small individual bags via a computer-controlled system. The human-machine-assisted drug administration has reduced the error rate to almost zero.

To build these IT solutions, the UKE collaborated closely with leading IT firms. The electronic patient record is primarily based on solutions by the American firm Cerner, and in the field of medication there is a partnership with ID-Berlin. In addition, important information from the electronic patient record can also be digitally transmitted to cooperating registered doctors, subject to patient approval. A Hamburg flagship project that combines the industry with its value chain, and intelligently connects the players within the health care industry.

Potential: Digital hospital in sight – Development of further e-Health solutions

The Hamburg UKE is thus a model for the whole world on how the use of innovative technology can increase the effectiveness and efficiency of healthcare provision. Patient safety increases; health costs decrease. The model sets a precedent: In 2016, the Asklepios Kliniken Hamburg GmbH announced that it also wishes to implement electronic records. They are the basis for further solutions in the eHealth sector. With the “Law on Secure Digital Communication and Applications in the Health Care System”, legislators have created the conditions for the exchange of digital data between doctors and hospitals from 2018 onwards.

eHealth (UKE)
in Numbers

-37,4%
Deviations in medication administration
2008
Conception
2011
Introduction and implementation
Stufe 7
Highest level EMRAM-Awards

Let's Connect

Related Stories

Das Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf ist mit der elektronischen Patientenakte auf dem Weg zum digitalen Krankenhaus. Als erstes Universitätsklinikum in Europa implementierte das UKE ein flächendeckend verfügbares Krankenhausinformationssystem (KIS). Ziel ist es nicht, lediglich Papier einzusparen, sondern die für die Behandlung der Patienten benötigten Daten genau dort zur Verfügung zu stellen, wo sie gebraucht werden.

Herausforderung: Effizienzsteigerung bei größtmöglicher Patientensicherheit

Markumar oder Mevinacor? Das eine Mittel verdünnt das Blut und kann bei Überdosierung zu Blutungen führen, das andere senkt den Cholesterinspiegel. Eine Verwechslung kann gefährlich werden – ist aber nicht ausgeschlossen, etwa wenn das vom Arzt ausgestellte Rezept mit der Hand geschrieben oder unter Zeitdruck ausgestellt wurde. Es galt jedoch, nicht nur die technischen Voraussetzungen für ein komplett papierloses Arbeiten zu schaffen, sondern dieses auch im Klinikalltag umzusetzen und zu etablieren.

Lösung: Wissen – Forschen – Heilen – durch vernetzte Kompetenz

Handschriftliche Verordnungen gibt es im UKE nicht mehr. Die zentral gespeicherten Daten in der elektronischen Patientenakte sind seitdem, geschützt durch ein streng reglementiertes und zertifiziertes Sicherheitssystem, zu jeder Zeit und von jedem Ort im Klinikum von den behandelnden Ärzten und Pflegekräften aufrufbar. An mobilen Terminals können Name des Patienten, Krankengeschichte sowie Medikamenten-Verordnung abgerufen werden. Eng eingebunden ist auch die Apotheke des UKE. Dort werden täglich 12.000 Einzeldosen computergesteuert für jeden Patienten individuell in Tütchen verpackt. Die Mensch-Maschinen-gestützte Medikamentengabe hat die Fehlerrate quasi auf Null gebracht.

Beim Aufbau dieser IT-Lösungen arbeitete das UKE eng mit führenden IT-Anbietern zusammen. So basiert die elektronische Patientenakte primär auf Lösungen des US Anbieters Cerner, während im Bereich der Medikation eine Kooperation mit ID-Berlin besteht. Zudem können wichtige Informationen aus der elektronischen Patientenakte auch mit Zustimmung des Patienten an kooperierende niedergelassene Ärzte digital übermittelt werden. Ein Hamburger Leuchtturmprojekt also, das Branchen und Wertschöpfungsketten verbindet und die Player des Gesundheitswirtschaftsstandorts intelligent miteinander vernetzt.

Potenzial: Digitales Krankenhaus in Sicht – Ausbau weiterer eHealth-Lösungen

Das Hamburger UKE ist damit weltweit ein Vorbild, wie der Einsatz innovativer Technik Effektivität und Effizienz der Versorgung steigern kann. Die Patientensicherheit nimmt zu; die Gesundheitskosten sinken. Das Modell macht Schule: 2016 gab die Asklepios Kliniken Hamburg GmbH bekannt, dass auch sie auf die digitale Akte umstellen will. Sie ist die Basis für weitere Lösungen im eHealth-Bereich. Mit dem „Gesetz für sichere Kommunikation und Anwendungen im Gesundheitswesen“ hat der Gesetzgeber für den Austausch digitaler Daten von Ärzten und Krankenhäusern ab 2018 dafür die Voraussetzungen geschaffen.

eHealth (UKE)
in Numbers

-37,4%
Abweichungen der Medikamentengabe
2008
Plannung
2011
Einführung und Umsetzung
Stufe 7
EMRAM-Awards

Let's Connect

Related Stories