Wind is air, is atmosphere, is force that one only needs to capture to turn it into clean electrical energy. But machines have been burning fossil fuels for more than 100 years, enriching the atmosphere with more and more CO2. CO2, which accumulates consistently if you do not retrieve it from the atmosphere.

The challenge: Retrieving CO2 out of the atmosphere and harnessing it

A wind turbine is in direct contact with the wind and thus with our atmosphere. It generates electrical energy without consuming finite resources. Consequently, it makes sense to combine the production of energy from wind power with the reduction of the increasing CO2 content in the atmosphere.

That is exactly what BLANCAIR aims for. The Hamburg engineering office Spitzner Engineers has dedicated itself to this task and developed a technology that can be integrated into wind turbines (WKAs) to extract CO2 from the ambient air.

The solution: Wind turbines that generate electricity and collect CO2

Spitzner has more than 20 years of experience in aviation and wind energy and holds numerous patents. The company’s spectrum ranges from solutions for improving the aircraft structure through new production techniques and aerodynamic optimization to complete system solutions.

In 2013, Spitzner Engineers received the German Renewables Award.

For the BLANCAIR project, Spitzner Engineers is not only working intensively with the Technical University of Hamburg. The company also received funding from the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy within the framework of the Central Investment Program for SMEs (ZIM).

If he rotor blades of a wind turbine are opened at the tip, the rotation forces will result in an outward flowing air suction. BLANCAIR uses exactly this principle and uses the resulting negative pressure to suck ambient air into the interior of the machine housing via the open rotor blades and without additional energy input. The air passes through a filter that absorbs the CO2 in the air with the help of amino salts. The bound gas is then desorbed by heat and collected in tanks via piping.

To provide the heat required for desorption, the already generated waste heat from the generator is used. At the same time, the generated air flow results in highly effective cooling of the generator.

The technology not only effects the intended extraction of CO2 from the atmosphere. Incidentally, it also has a positive effect on the lifetime of the wind turbines. Due to the constant ventilation of the rotor blades, aging due to moisture is sustainably delayed. The highly efficient generator cooling ensures higher efficiency and longer life. Maintenance costs are reduced and the profitability of the wind turbines is increased.

Potential: Wind turbines with negative emissions fully integrated in an energy network

The development of BLANCAIR has been completed. The patent was granted in September 2018 and the technologies were incorporated into an independent company under the name of clean energy one. Since then, clean energy one has been involved in intensive negotiations with wind turbine manufacturers and has met very positive response.

In phases of excessive energy production due to high winds, the electrical energy of a wind farm can be used excellently to generate hydrogen. Adding CO2 to this hydrogen produces methane, which is the main constituent of natural gas (75 to 99%). Methane has a high energy density and can be fed directly into the existing nationwide natural gas grid. It is therefore easily possible to transform the environmental pollutant CO2 into an energy source for machines, ships and vehicles without the need to set up an additional infrastructure.

BLANCAIR
in Numbers

30,000
wind turbines in Germany
20%
of the wind energy generated in SH is not used
40%
higher CO2 concentration compared to pre-industrial times

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Wind ist Luft, ist Atmosphäre, ist Kraft, die man nur einfangen muss, um sie in saubere elektrische Energie zu verwandeln. Doch bereits seit über 100 Jahren verbrennen Maschinen fossile Energieträger und haben dabei die Atmosphäre mit immer mehr CO2 angereichert.

Herausforderung: CO2 aus der Atmosphäre holen und nutzbar machen

Eine Windkraftanlage steht im direkten Kontakt zum Wind und damit zu unserer Atmosphäre. Sie erzeugt elektrische Energie, ohne dabei endliche Ressourcen zu verbrauchen. Da liegt es eigentlich nahe, die Erzeugung von Energie aus Windkraft mit der Senkung des zunehmenden CO2-Gehalts in der Atmosphäre zu verbinden.

Genau darauf zielt BLANCAIR ab. Das Hamburger Ingenieurbüro Spitzner Engineers hat sich dieser Aufgabe verschrieben und eine Technologie entwickelt, die sich in Windkraftanlagen (WKAs) integrieren lässt, um CO2 aus der Umgebungsluft zu extrahieren.

Lösung: Windkraftanlagen, die Strom erzeugen und dabei CO2 einsammeln

Spitzner verfügt über gut 20 Jahre Erfahrung aus den Bereichen Luftfahrt und Windenergie und hält zahlreiche Patente. Das Spektrum des Unternehmens reicht von Lösungen zur Verbesserung der Flugzeugstruktur über neue Produktionstechniken und der aerodynamischen Optimierung bis hin zu kompletten Systemlösungen.

2013 erhielt Spitzner Engineers den German Renewables Award.

Für das Projekt BLANCAIR arbeitet Spitzner Engineers nicht nur intensiv mit der Technischen Universität Hamburg zusammen. Das Unternehmen erhielt auch Fördermittel vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie im Rahmen des zentralen Investitionsprogramms Mittelstand (ZIM).

Öffnet man die Rotorblätter einer WKA an der Spitze, dann entsteht durch die Rotationskraft ein nach außen strömender Luftsog. Genau dieses Prinzip nutzt BLANCAIR und verwendet den dabei entstehenden Unterdruck, um über die geöffneten Rotorblätter und ohne zusätzlichen Energieaufwand Umgebungsluft ins Innere des Maschinengehäuses zu saugen. Diese wird über einen Filter geleitet, in dem das in der Luft enthaltene CO2 mithilfe von Aminosalzen absorbiert wird. Das gebundene Gas wird dann mithilfe von Wärme desorbiert und über eine Rohrleitung in Tanks gesammelt.

Für die zur Desorption erforderliche Wärme wird ganz einfach die ohnehin entstehende Abwärme des Generators genutzt. Gleichzeitig bewirkt der erzeugte Luftstrom eine hochwirksame Kühlung des Generators.

Die Technologie bewirkt nicht nur die beabsichtigte Extraktion von CO2 aus der Atmosphäre. Sie wirkt sich ganz nebenbei auch positiv auf die Lebensdauer der WKA aus. Durch die ständige Belüftung der Rotorblätter wird eine Alterung durch Feuchtigkeit nachhaltig verzögert. Die hochwirksame Generator-Kühlung sorgt für höhere Effizienz und längere Lebensdauer. Der Wartungsaufwand sinkt und die Wirtschaftlichkeit der WKA wird erhöht.

Potenzial: Windkraftanlagen mit negativer Emission im Energieverbund

Die Entwicklung von BLANCAIR wurde mittlerweile abgeschlossen. Das Patent wurde im September 2018 erteilt und die Technologien in ein eigenständiges Unternehmen unter dem Namen clean energy one eingebracht. Clean energy one  steht seitdem in intensiven Verhandlungen mit Anlagenbauern und stößt dort auf ein hohes positives Echo.

In Zeiten von Energieüberschuss durch viel Wind lässt sich die elektrische Energie eines Windparks hervorragend zur Erzeugung von Wasserstoff nutzen. Fügt man diesem Wasserstoff CO2 zu, entsteht Methan, das mit 75 bis 99 % der Hauptbestandteil von Erdgas ist. Methan hat eine hohe Energiedichte und kann direkt in das bereits flächendeckend vorhandene Erdgasnetz eingespeist werden. Es ist also problemlos möglich, den Umwelt-Schadstoff CO2 in eine Energiequelle für Maschinen, Schiffe und Fahrzeuge zu verwandeln, ohne dass dafür eine eigene Infrastruktur erforderlich ist.

Stand: August 2019

BLANCAIR
in Numbers

30.000
Windkraftanlagen in Deutschland
20 %
der in SH erzeugten Windenergie wird nicht genutzt
40 %
höhere CO2-Konzentration im Vergleich zur vorindustriellen Zeit

Impressions

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories