Especially for economy class travellers sleeping on board of an aircraft is anything but comfortable. A joint project by Airbus and Safran Cabin resulted in an option to add real beds to specific Airbus models.

Challenge: Unused space for extra comfort

Depending on the destination, usually only 50 to 60 % of the cargo space of a passenger plane is used to store the passengers baggage or air freight. The rest is simply empty space that is mostly not utilized at all.

Some airlines have become aware of this issue and eventually approached Airbus to develop ideas to utilize this unused space to provide passengers with added comfort and convenience. In 2018, Airbus teamed up with aircraft interior specialist Safran Cabin to develop a solution that would allow airlines to generate added revenue through innovative space concepts.

Especially the Airbus A 330 is already equipped with a means to access the lower deck of the plane. Presently, only sleeping accommodations for the crew are located there.

Solution: Adding value to airlines and passengers

The Airbus engineering team of the Lower Deck Module project is based in Hamburg. In early 2018, the team started with first drafts outlining ideas for intelligent lower deck usage. The idea was to utilize the partly unused cargo space of certain aircraft models in a way to provide Airlines with new business opportunities while offering passengers added value especially during long intercontinental flights. At the end of 2018, a first mockup of a Lower Deck Module was constructed. During the consecutive months engineering and evacuation tests with passengers were performed.

A presentation to the aircraft industry took place at the 2019 Aircraft Interiors Expo in Hamburg. The concept immediately attracted interest as an innovative solution to turn air travel into an even more comfortable experience. As a result, Airbus and Safran Cabin were awarded the 2019 Crystal Cabin Award in the Cabin Concepts category.

The added lower deck passenger space is realized in the form of flexible modules that are designed for easy installation and removal. The concept was first realized for the Airbus A330, since this aircraft was equipped with a lower deck sleeping compartment for the crew and therefore already offered a means of access to this area.

Each module offers a floor space of 10 square meters which allows the installation of up to 8 beds. A total of 4 modules can be used, resulting in an added space of up to 40 square meters for 32 beds. The modules rest on standard rails the aircraft is already equipped with and can be removed anytime depending on the requirements for a given flight.

Target group of such an added in-flight offer are for example parents who desire comfortable sleeping accommodations for themselves and their children on long distance flights. The offer is ideal for anyone who wants to reach his destination well rested and ready for any planned activity.

Potential: Sleeping, meeting and working during a flight

Concept, design and construction of the Lower Deck Modules are now finalized and can be viewed by potential customers at the Toulouse facilities of Airbus. The company is presently offering the new solution to its customers.

As soon as the first customer decides to include the Lower Deck Modules into existing or new A330 aircrafts, Airbus plans to start the approval procedures which are required for any on-board component developed for an aircraft. About 24 months after such a first-time order, this new feature will then be available to passengers.

Depending on customer demand, Airbus also plans to offer Lower Deck Modules for the Airbus A350. Alternative options for such modules include using them as meeting rooms for business conferences, as office spaces or as a comfortable area for in-flight entertainment.

As of September 2019

Airplane Lower Deck Modules
in Numbers

2
Airbus models targeted for equipment
4
individual modules can be combined
10
quare meter per module
8
sleeping accommodation per module

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories

Vor allem für Reisende in der Economy Class ist das Schlafen an Bord eines Flugzeugs alles andere als bequem. Ein gemeinsames Projekt von Airbus und Safran Cabin will Abhilfe schaffen. Dafür gab es den Crystal Cabin Award 2019 in der Kategorie Kabinenkonzepte.

Herausforderung: Ungenutzter Raum für mehr Komfort

Je nach Zielort werden in der Regel nur 50 bis 60 % des Laderaums eines Passagierflugzeugs zum Transport von Gepäck und Luftfracht genutzt. Der Rest ist einfach leerer Raum.

Einige Fluggesellschaften haben über dieses Problem nachgedacht und sich schließlich an Airbus gewandt, um Ideen zur Verwendung dieses ungenutzten Raums zu entwickeln, um den Passagieren zusätzlichen Komfort und Bequemlichkeit zu bieten. Im Jahr 2018 entwickelte Airbus gemeinsam mit dem Spezialisten für Flugzeug-Innenausstattungen Safran Cabin eine Lösung, mit der Fluggesellschaften durch innovative Raumkonzepte zusätzliche Einnahmen erzielen können.

Insbesondere der Airbus A 330 ist bereits mit einer Zugangsmöglichkeit zum Unterdeck des Flugzeugs ausgestattet, wo sich derzeit lediglich Schlafgelegenheiten für die Besatzung befinden.

Lösung: Mehrwert für Airlines und Passagiere

Das Engineering-Team des Projekts Lower Deck Module von Airbus hat seinen Sitz in Hamburg. Anfang 2018 begann das Team mit ersten Entwürfen, in denen Ideen für eine intelligente Nutzung des Unterdecks skizziert wurden. Die Idee war, den teilweise ungenutzten Laderaum bestimmter Flugzeugmodelle zu nutzen, um den Fluggesellschaften neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten und den Passagieren vor allem auf Interkontinentalflügen einen Mehrwert zu bieten. Ende 2018 wurde ein erstes Modell eines Moduls für den Laderaum gebaut. In den darauffolgenden Monaten wurden dann Konstruktions- und Evakuierungstests mit Passagieren durchgeführt.

Auf der Aircraft Interiors Expo 2019 in Hamburg fand eine Präsentation für die Flugzeugindustrie statt. Das Konzept stieß sofort auf Interesse als innovative Lösung, um den Flugverkehr noch komfortabler zu gestalten. Als Ergebnis wurden Airbus und Safran Cabin mit dem Crystal Cabin Award 2019 in der Kategorie Kabinenkonzepte ausgezeichnet.

Der zusätzliche Fahrgastraum im Unterdeck wird in Form von flexiblen Modulen realisiert, die für eine einfache Installation und Demontage ausgelegt sind. Das Konzept wurde erstmals für den Airbus A330 umgesetzt, da dieses Flugzeug bereits mit einem Unterdeck-Schlafraum für die Besatzung ausgestattet war und somit einen Zugang zu diesem Bereich bot.

Jedes Modul bietet eine Grundfläche von 10 Quadratmetern, die die Installation von bis zu 8 Betten ermöglicht. Insgesamt 4 Module können verwendet werden, was einen zusätzlichen Raum von bis zu 40 Quadratmetern für 32 Betten ergibt. Die Module ruhen auf Standardschienen, mit denen das Flugzeug bereits ausgestattet ist, und können je nach Anforderung jederzeit entfernt werden.

Zielgruppe eines solchen zusätzlichen On-Board-Angebots sind beispielsweise Eltern, die auf Langstreckenflügen eine komfortable Schlafgelegenheit für sich und ihre Kinder wünschen. Generell ist das Angebot ideal für alle, die ausgeruht und bereit für die geplante Aktivität ihr Ziel erreichen möchten.

Potenzial: Während des Flugs schlafen und arbeiten

Konzept, Design und Konstruktion der Lower Deck-Module sind nun abgeschlossen und können von potenziellen Kunden in den Airbus-Werken in Toulouse begutachtet werden. Das Unternehmen hat die Lösung mittlerweile in sein Angebot aufgenommen.

Sobald der erste Kunde beschließt, derartige Module in bestehende oder neue A330-Flugzeuge einzubauen, plant Airbus, die erforderlichen Genehmigungsverfahren einzuleiten. Etwa 24 Monate nach einer solchen Erstbestellung steht diese neue Ausstattung dann den Passagieren zur Verfügung.

Je nach Kundenwunsch plant Airbus, auch Unterdeckmodule für den Airbus A350 anzubieten. Alternative Optionen für solche Module sind die Verwendung als Besprechungsräume für Konferenzen, als Büroräume oder als komfortabler Bereich für das Entertainment an Bord.

Stand: Oktober 2019

Airplane Lower Deck Modules
in Numbers

2
Airbus-Modelle bereit zur Ausstattung
4
Module lassen sich kombinieren
10
Quadratmeter pro Modul
8
Schlafplätze pro Modul

Let's Connect

Related Stories

View All Stories