Elbphilharmonie im Sonnenuntergang

Why Hamburg? Three reasons and a good plan

We love playing around, trying things out and experimenting. We owe amazing inventions such as adhesive plaster, the chip card and Nivea cream or essentials like disinfectant, navigation devices and the Advent wreath to this passion. Alfred Nobel allegedly invented dynamite in Geesthacht in 1866 and tested it on a raft on the Elbe River.

Today, Hamburg is a driver of innovation and an urban testing laboratory for futuristic projects and counts among the top 5 business locations worldwide

We, the 5.4 million inhabitants of the Hamburg Metropolitan Region, live and work on a 28,529 km² area. A particularly verdant metropolis, Hamburg is the economic heart of northern Europe, and will soon be even more closely connected to its neighbours in Scandinavia via the Fehmarn Belt crossing.

The German capital Berlin, the only city bigger than Hamburg, is a mere 91 minute commute. The metropolitan region consists of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and parts of the states of Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania and Lower Saxony. More and more people and companies are attracted to this region - and we fully understand that. We enjoy living and working here for three main reasons.

We love Hamburg’s urban flair, the shopping malls, co-working spaces and the cafés on the Elbe River and on the banks of Lake Alster. Yet, we need the sense of space and wind. We are metropolitan! City and country life, living and working know no boundaries here. Other borders are not to our liking and least of all intellectual boundaries. We were born with a merchant’s streak - a great match for a port city which has been a hub of international trade for over a thousand years. We cannot help turning the abundance of ideas into business models immediately. However, Hamburg does not issue permits for building castles in the air.


True to our allegedly stubborn and taciturn nature, we say “Moin, Jo and Tschö” (morning, yes and bye), seal business deals with a handshake and are always in a bit of a hurry because we are working fervently on the future for which we have a good plan.

That plan has to do with wind - our most important natural resource. The supply of wind here in the north is inexhaustible. That makes us THE capital of wind and a centre of renewable energies, wind power and environment-friendly hydrogen. We are counting on these resources to form ideal prerequisites for a sustainable economy in future. 

After again being voted smartCity recently, we can safely say our city is a hotspot of forward-looking technologies. Deep technologies such as artificial intelligence, blockchain, IoT and robotics are good for us and especially when they benefit mankind. We are quite proud of companies that develop intelligent solutions for climate change, start-ups that burn the midnight oil at hackathons and later use ultraviolet light to fight viruses. Developing lightweight hybrid materials is akin to gold bars in one of the world’s largest aviation centres

It may seem as though we are preparing for an alien to land in 2050. Perhaps, they would land in the port, the smart port with intelligent logistics; drones, self-propelled buses and feel entirely at home.

The people, the places, the near boundless opportunities and perspectives attract more and more investors, students and skilled workers to Hamburg and the region between the North Sea and the Baltic Sea. Needless to say, the demonstrably happiest people in Germany live and work in this region.

We love like-minded visitors as well as entirely different characters. Surf our future.hamburg website. Should you have any queries or suggestions, contact us or pop over. Are you a developer, investor or have a daring idea or brainchild? Tell us ALL about it. See you soon. 

Video file

Hamburg as a European innovation hub - the top ten:

  • Second largest city in world’s fourth biggest economy
  • fDi magazine: most attractive region for international investors in Germany
  • International trade and port city: 250,000 residents of choice from 185 nations in Hamburg
  • 130,000 students, 12,000 researchers, around 10,000 IT companies
  • Highest university density: more than 20 universities and the university of excellence as catalysts of innovation
  • Creative founders’ scene
  • 45 per cent degree of digitalisation puts it in top position
  • Network of research and innovation parks with different focal points
  • DESY, XFEL, Fraunhofer, IAPT, ZAL, CFK Valley in location
  • Nine cluster initiatives ranging from aviation, renewable energies, media and life science
  • Fun Fact: Luneburg has the highest density of pubs in Europe after Madrid!

Termine

Bitkom: Humankind and machines

https://www.bitkom-akademie.de/live-online-seminar/von-menschen-und-maschinen

New Work Mindset and Leadership Roles

https://www.fuehrungskraefteschmiede.de/Nachwuchsprogramm/Nachwuchsprogramm-1177

Workshop on funding cultural projects

https://kreativgesellschaft.org/termine/fordermittel-fur-kulturelle-projekte-beantragen/10820

NextMedia Idea Jam

https://www.nextmedia-hamburg.de/event/nextmedia-ideajam/

Elbphilharmonie im Sonnenuntergang

Warum Hamburg? Drei Gründe und ein guter Plan

Wir tüfteln, testen und experimentieren für unser Leben gern. Dieser Leidenschaft haben wir so erstaunliche Dinge wie das Heftpflaster, die Chipkarte und die Nivea Creme zu verdanken. Oder unverzichtbare Erfindungen wie das Desinfektionsmittel, das Navigationsgerät und den Adventskranz. Alfred Nobel soll 1866 in Geesthacht das Dynamit erfunden und auf einem Floß auf der Elbe getestet haben.

Heute ist Hamburg Innovationstreiber und urbanes Testlabor für futuristische Projekte und zählt zu den Top 5 Wirtschaftsstandorten weltweit.

Wir – das sind 5,4 Millionen Einwohner*innen der Metropolregion Hamburg in Deutschland. Wir leben und arbeiten auf 28.529km². Als besonders grüne Metropole ist Hamburg das ökonomische Herz Nordeuropas, durch die Fehmarnbelt-Querung bald noch enger verbunden mit den skandinavischen Nachbarn.

Größer als Hamburg ist nur noch die Hauptstadt Berlin - kaum mehr als 91 Minuten entfernt. Die Metropolregion besteht aus der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg und zu Teilen aus den Bundesländern Schleswig- Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Niedersachsen. Immer mehr Menschen und Unternehmen zieht es hierher - und dafür haben wir vollstes Verständnis. Sind es doch vor allem drei Gründe, aus denen wir hier so gern leben und arbeiten...

Wir lieben das urbane Treiben in Hamburg, den Shopping Malls, Coworking-Spaces und Cafés an Elbe und Alster - und brauchen gleichzeitig das Gefühl von Wind und Weite. Wir sind Metropolitaner*innen! Stadt und Land, Leben und Arbeiten - dazwischen gibt es keine Grenze. Auch andere Grenzen mögen wir nicht, am allerwenigsten die im Kopf. Wir kommen mit Kaufmanns-Gen auf die Welt. Passend für eine Hafenstadt, in der seit über tausend Jahren international gehandelt wird. Viele Ideen verwandeln wir umgehend in Geschäftsmodelle. Wir können nicht anders. Für Luftschlösser gibt es bei uns keine Baugenehmigung.

Wir gelten als etwas sturköpfig und einsilbig. Wir sagen Moin, Jo und Tschö, besiegeln Geschäfte per Handschlag und haben es immer auch ein wenig eilig, denn wir basteln mit Hochdruck an der Zukunft. Und dafür haben wir einen guten Plan.

Dieser Plan hat etwas mit unserer wichtigsten Ressource zu tun: Wind. Davon haben wir hier im Norden unerschöpflich viel. Das macht uns zur Hauptstadt des Windes und zum Zentrum für Erneuerbare Energien, Windkraft und grünen Wasserstoff - und auf den setzen wir in der Zukunft. Die besten Vorrausetzungen für eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft.

Gerade erneut zur smartCity gekürt, sind wir Hotspot für Zukunftstechnologien. Deep Tech, wie Künstliche Intelligenz, Blockchain, IoT und Robotics ist dann gut für uns, wenn sie den Menschen nützt. Wir sind etwas stolz auf Unternehmen, die intelligente Lösungen für den Klimawandel entwickeln, Startups, die sich in Hackathons die Nächte um die Ohren schlagen, um dann mit UV-Licht Viren zu bekämpfen. Entwicklungen von leichtem Hybrid-Material sind bares Gold für einen der weltweit größten Luftfahrtstandorte.

Scheint fast so, als würden wir uns vorbereiten auf die Ankunft eines Außerirdischen aus dem Jahr 2050. Vielleicht würde er oder sie im Hafen landen, dem smart Port mit intelligenter Logistik; Drohnen, selbstfahrenden Bussen und sich ganz wie zuhause fühlen.

So sind vor allem die Menschen, die Orte und die schier grenzenlosen Möglichkeiten und Perspektiven die drei Gründe, die immer mehr Investor*innen, Studierende und Fachkräfte nach Hamburg und die Region zwischen Nord- und Ostsee locken. Unnötig zu sagen, wo nachweislich die glücklichsten Menschen in Deutschland leben und arbeiten.

Wir mögen Besucher*innen, die ein wenig so sind wie wir - oder auch ganz anders. Schau dich um auf future.hamburg. Melde dich, wenn du Fragen oder Anregungen hast, oder einfach vorbeikommen möchtest. Bist du gar Entwickler*in, Investor*in oder Besitzer*in einer komplett tollkühnen Idee? Dann her damit - und Tschö.

Video file

Hamburg als europäische Innovationsmetropole - die Top Ten:

  • Zweitgrößte Stadt der viertgrößten Volkswirtschaft der Welt
  • fDi Magazine: attraktivste Region für internationale Investoren in Deutschland
  • Internationale Handels- und Hafen-Metropole: 250.000 Wahlhamburger aus 185 Nationen
  • 130.000 Studierende, 12.000 Forschende, knapp 10.000 IT-Firmen
  • Größte Hochschuldichte: mehr als 20 Hochschulen und Exzellenz-Uni als Treiber für Innovation
  • Kreative Gründerszene
  • Mit einem Digitalisierungsgrad von 45 Prozent an der Spitze
  • Ein Netz aus Forschungs- und Innovationsparks mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten
  • Am Standort: DESY, XFEL, Fraunhofer, IAPT, ZAL, CFK Valley
  • Neun Clusterinitiativen – von Luftfahrt über Erneuerbare Energien, Medien und Life Science
  • Fun Fact: Lüneburg hat nach Madrid die höchste Kneipendichte Europas!

Termine

Von Menschen und Maschinen

https://www.bitkom-akademie.de/live-online-seminar/von-menschen-und-maschinen

12min.me Shift: Stop Lockdown Lethargie

https://www.meetup.com/de-DE/12minHH/events/275123055/

New Work- Mindset und Führungsrolle

https://www.fuehrungskraefteschmiede.de/Nachwuchsprogramm/Nachwuchsprogramm-1177

Workshop: Fördermittel für kulturelle Projekte

https://kreativgesellschaft.org/termine/fordermittel-fur-kulturelle-projekte-beantragen/10820

NextMedia IdeaJam

https://www.nextmedia-hamburg.de/event/nextmedia-ideajam/

SMM Digital 2021

https://www.smm-hamburg.com/

KLU Logistics Innovators day

https://www.the-klu.org/event-pages/klu-logistics-innovators-day

IDX_FS - International Digital Food Services Expo

https://idxfs.de/

Hamburg Games Conference

https://www.gamesconference.com/

d3con 2021: Programmatic Advertising

https://d3con.de/

Procurement Summit 2021

https://procurementsummit.de/

Blockchance Europe 2021

https://www.blockchance.eu/

AIX 2021 - Aircraft Interiors Expo

https://www.aircraftinteriorsexpo.com/

ITS World Congress Hamburg 2021

https://itsworldcongress.com/